TwitterFacebook

National Review’s John O’Sullivan: On the Board of Directors of a White Nationalist Group

Sat on board while VDare provided start-up funding for the extreme white nationalist website, Alternative Right
Wingnuts • Views: 31,474

Documents obtained from Guidestar reveal that John O’Sullivan — former editor and current staff writer and “editor-at-large” for National Review — is listed on the board of directors for the white nationalist organization Lexington Research Institute Limited (aka The VDare Foundation) most commonly known as VDare.

Form 990s obtained from Guidestar reveal he was on their board from 2009 to 2010 with the overview report indicating him on the board of VDare from the 2006 to 2010 (Fiscal year ending on December 31, 2010).

John O’SullivanOn March 15, 2010, the Southern Poverty Law Center reported that white nationalist Richard B. Spencer of Taki’s magazine (see John Derbyshire firing) began a venture with Peter Brimelow, et al, to create a new online white nationalist magazine, Alternative Right.

Form 990 from that same year, 2010, reaveals a $35,000 grant from VDare to Alternative Right located in Whitefish, Montana. The group behind Alternative Right is the National Policy Institute which had their first conference in 2011 entitled, “Towards a New Nationalism.” Alex Knepper of Frum Forum described Richard Spencer “a white nationalist, a bully, and an intellectual coward” in his piece, “Alternative Right’s Ugly Racism”.

With backing from the white nationalist organization VDare in 2010 — at which time NRO’s John O’Sullivan was on the board of directors — Alternative Right has quickly become known for its promotion of racism, white supremacism or nationalism, and race realism, or what many consider “scientific racism.”

With a tone reminiscent of Norwegian mass murderer Anders Breivik’s manifesto, some of their recent topics include:

  • Equality as Evil
  • Negro Fascism
  • White Nationalism 2.0
  • White America’s Last Bender
  • White Nationalism is Not Enough

Most recently, Alternative Right published a now deleted piece by Alternative Right contributing editor Colin Liddell entitled “Is Black Genocide Right?”:

With Europeans and some Asians having much less children, most of the population growth leading to this future crisis is projected to come from Africans. This is the race that history and the present example of South Africa proves is least able to take care of itself; a race that has contributed almost nothing to the pool of civilization and which even shows little inclination to stay within the bounds of that civilization; a race that also seems to harbor a potent inferiority complex and savage hatred towards the creators of that civilization; and a race that votes to keep the ANC in power, the very party that helps power their increasingly genocidal attitude towards Whites.

[…]

The basic habits, ideas, and practices that help civilization to survive and prosper in other parts of the world seem largely absent among large elements of South Africa’s Black population, and it seems that it is only a matter of time before the country sinks to the level of poverty and savagery endemic in most of the rest of Africa and places like Haiti and Detroit. If this is the case, then, rather than the question of White Genocide, shouldn’t the debate really be focused on whether Black Genocide is something worth considering?

What others have said about Alternative Right:

[The] far-right-wingers at Alternative Right represent the ugly – and yes racist – underbelly of ‘alt’ conservatism. This is white nationalism, folks, dressed up in faux-intellectualism.
Richard Spencer and the ugly white nationalism of the Alternative Right — E.D. Kain, True/Slant

[They’re] going to be white nationalists, but, by God, they’re going to be a little fancy about it.
The ‘New’ Racist Right — Tim Mak, Frum Forum

John O’Sullivan’s role in the creation of Alternative Right is yet unknown, as is his current position with VDare. What is known: according to records obtained from Guidestar, National Review’s John O’Sullivan sat on the board of directors for the white nationalist organization VDare from 2006 to 2010.

During that time, VDare was instrumental in the formation of Alternative Right which included that $35,000 grant. It should be noted that during a previous purge of extremists at National Review, John O’Sullivan was removed as editor. According to the Southern Poverty Law Center, Mr. O’Sullivan “encouraged” the work of white nationalist Peter Brimelow:

In many ways, the evolution of William F. Buckley, which is covered extensively in White Protestant Nation, parallels the conservative movement’s shift away from extremism in the past few decades. In the 1950s, Buckley’s National Review supported segregation and notions of black inferiority. Over time, racist and other anti-pluralist ideas were ditched. In 1997, National Review even took a stand against anti-immigrant extremism, cashiering out Peter Brimelow, who wrote the virulently anti-immigrant book, Alien Nation (Brimelow, who still writes for The Wall Street Journal’s MarketWatch, would shortly thereafter set up his own anti-immigrant hate site, vdare.com), and John O’Sullivan, the editor who encouraged Brimelow’s work.

Also of note from the Southern Poverty Law Center:

From Courting Conservatives
By Heidi Beirich, Intelligence Project Director

Brimelow helped Tanton widen his own circle, introducing him to John O’Sullivan, the editor of the National Review in the 1990s, while Brimelow was still a contributor there. Since then, Tanton has written and visited with O’Sullivan frequently. On Sept. 10, 1999, he thanked O’Sullivan for writing about “infamous immigrants,” in particular Charles Ponzi, the Italian immigrant who created the notorious “Ponzi scheme” pyramid swindle. Earlier, Tanton had suggested that O’Sullivan offer National Review readers copies of The Camp of the Saints, a racist French nativist novel republished by Tanton in 1995.

O’Sullivan, who is now the executive editor of Radio Free Europe, did not respond to requests for comment. Neither did Tanton or Brimelow.

Brimelow also introduced Tanton to white nationalist Pat Buchanan, a political commentator for MSNBC and three-time presidential candidate. Tanton sent Buchanan a political contribution and later, on Feb. 2, 1997, visited him at his home. The two went on to become friends, with Buchanan, who also declined comment, contributing essays to Tanton’s racist journal, The Social Contract.

Form 990 Indicating John O’Sullivan as director of VDare in 2010

Form 990 Indicating $35,000 grant from VDare to Alternative Right

VDare at the Splcenter:

Founded: 1999
Location: Washington, Conn.
Profiled Leadership:
Peter Brimelow

Ideology: White Nationalist

Originally established in 1999 by the Center for American Unity, a Virginia-based nonprofit foundation started by English immigrant Peter Brimelow, vdare.com is an anti-immigration hate website “dedicated to preserving our historical unity as Americans into the 21st Century.” Now run by the VDARE Foundation, the site is a place where relatively intellectually inclined leaders of the anti-immigrant movement share their opinions. vdare.com also regularly publishes articles by prominent white nationalists, race scientists and anti-Semites.

In Its Own Words

“America was defined — almost explicitly, sometimes very explicitly — as a white nation, for white people, and what that means is that there is virtually no figure, no law, no policy, no event in the history of the old, white America that can survive the transition to the new and non-white version. Whether we will want to call the new updated version ‘America’ at all is another question entirely.”
Sam Francis, VDARE.com, July 21, 2003

“Jewish activity collectively, throughout history, is best understood as an elaborate and highly successful group competitive strategy directed against neighboring peoples and host societies. The objective has been control of economic resources and political power. One example: overwhelming Jewish support for non-traditional immigration, which has the effect of weakening America’s historic white majority.”
Kevin MacDonald, VDARE.com, Nov. 14, 2006

“What race realists find most infuriating about the liberalism of the last half century is not just that it has lost its instinctive appreciation for the culture and people of the West but actively, viciously attacks them. Whites are doing something no other people have ever done in human history. Our rulers and elites welcome replacement by aliens, they vilify our ancestors and their own, they sacrifice our interests to those of favored minorities, and they treat the entire history of the West as if it were a global plague of rapine and exploitation. This is a disease that is killing us, and we must fight it head on.”
Jared Taylor, VDARE.com, July 4, 2008

Alternative Right’s Richard Spencer also interviewed American Third Position Party (A3P) candidate Merlin Miller:

During the 2000s, Miller began to take on an increasingly white nationalist political stance. He also became harshly critical of Hollywood, claiming that it “surreptitiously seeks to destroy our European-American heritage and our Christian-based traditional values, and replace them with values that debase these traditional values and elevate minorities as paragons of virtue and wisdom….Today’s motion pictures, in concert with other forms of mass media entertainment, are the greatest enemies to the well-being of our progeny and the future of our country.” Miller has also accused Hollywood of being under “Jewish-Zionist control”; he cites Kevin B. MacDonald as influencing this view. He has attacked celebrities such as Quentin Tarantino and Madonna, saying that they are “dysfunctional” and “come from traditional Christian or European-American backgrounds but are notorious for spurning those values.” He has cited Mel Gibson and his self-marketed movie The Passion of the Christ as inspirations.

There are several unanswered questions here, such as what influence National Review’s John O’Sullivan had in the $35,000 grant from VDare for the start up of the extremist white nationalist website, Alternative Right. But many facts are clear. John O’Sullivan has had a long standing relationship with Peter Brimelow who despite his re-branding of white nationalism into some kind of “heritage foundation” remains a steadfast white nationalist. Mr. O’Sullivan also encouraged Peter Brimelow’s work at National Review.

Peter Brimelow was eventually fired from his position at National Review by William F. Buckley. Mr. O’Sullivan was also “demoted” by Mr. Buckley at the same time. John O’Sullivan has been in the board of directors seat of VDare for at least 4 years. During that time, VDare was instrumental in starting the white nationalist website Alternative Right who gladly promotes the likes of white nationalist and antisemite, Merlin Miller. Alternative Right is a child of VDare, and John O’Sullivan’s name is on the very document in which this was revealed.

(h/t: Goddard.)

Related:
National Review’s John Derbyshire Publishes Stunningly Racist Article at White Nationalist Site
John Derbyshire Is Just a Little Too Openly Racist for NRO
National Review Writer Robert Weissberg Attends White Nationalist Gathering
National Review Fires Another White Nationalist Writer

Jump to bottom

141 comments

1 Shvaughn  Mon, Apr 16, 2012 6:33:43pm

What a surprise. It's like you can't turn over a racist rock without finding an NRO writer under it.

2 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Mon, Apr 16, 2012 6:34:27pm

It's just two three! ///

3 CuriousLurker  Mon, Apr 16, 2012 6:41:13pm

What the hell? How many MORE are there?

Good work, Gus!

4 jaunte  Mon, Apr 16, 2012 6:44:01pm

Tweeted to #NRO, #NROCorner, #SPLC, #tlot, #tcot, #ucot, #P2, #P21. Let's see who shows up.

5 jaunte  Mon, Apr 16, 2012 7:02:02pm

White Protestant Nation: The Rise of the American Conservative Movement
By Allan J. Lichtman

...things have changed in the last 10 years as open racism has led to public humiliation and GOP disavowal of prominent conservatives, including former Senators George Allen and Trent Lott. As Lichtman points out, pandering to anti-pluralist views is hard to do "without alienating centrist voters" who are key to electoral victory.

Lichtman's book has been attacked by prominent leaders of the conservative movement, in particular former Bush speechwriter David Frum, for over-emphasizing conservatism's nastier strands. While it is true that moderate conservatives like Frum, who is openly pluralist and advocates a tolerant, big-tent GOP, are a world away from Willis Carto or the conspiracymongers of the John Birch Society, the anti-immigrant outburst seen in the 2008 GOP primaries and the anti-gay rhetoric of the Christian Right — views that have been reiterated by some prominent GOP leaders — show that anti-pluralist beliefs are alive and well in certain sectors of the conservative movement.

6 The Ghost of a Flea  Mon, Apr 16, 2012 7:36:24pm

re: #5 jaunte

White Protestant Nation: The Rise of the American Conservative Movement
By Allan J. Lichtman

The discussion connected to that article is just nuts...and phenomenally stupid. You've got a mass of "race realists" and scientific racists ranting about genetic intelligence...without quantifying intelligence...versus cultural acquisition. (And they're all morons, because none of them has stopped to consider the economic impact of colonialism).

7 Lidane  Mon, Apr 16, 2012 7:38:07pm

re: #3 CuriousLurker

What the hell? How many MORE are there?

Considering the National Review's racist origins and history, I'd imagine a lot of them.

8 Randall Gross  Mon, Apr 16, 2012 7:59:45pm

Gus, great work again friend.

9 Mich-again  Mon, Apr 16, 2012 8:07:56pm

Keep in mind, the form 990 is required by 501(c)(3) tax exempt organizations.
That means people who donate to the cause get to claim a tax deduction.

Behold the budget hawk right wingers who love to talk about how the USA can't afford social programs, safety nets, and universal health care.

But apparently we can afford to have taxpayers subsidize white supremacist BS like this.

10 Charles Johnson  Mon, Apr 16, 2012 8:32:24pm

I'm going to promote this one, but I'll leave it here overnight in case Gus wants to edit something.

11 WINDUPBIRD DISEASE [S.K.U.M.M.]  Mon, Apr 16, 2012 8:39:15pm

wow

12 Mich-again  Mon, Apr 16, 2012 8:48:02pm

Peter Brimelow was a speaker at CPAC 2012 and none of the other prominent conservatives who came to suck up to the base objected having to share the venue with white nationalists.
LGF: CPAC will feature White Nationalist Leader Peter Brimelow.

13 The Ghost of a Flea  Mon, Apr 16, 2012 8:54:02pm

re: #9 Mich-again

Keep in mind, the form 990 is required by 501(c)(3) tax exempt organizations.
That means people who donate to the cause get to claim a tax deduction.

Behold the budget hawk right wingers who love to talk about how the USA can't afford social programs, safety nets, and universal health care.

But apparently we can afford to have taxpayers subsidize white supremacist BS like this.

Money is only fungible if it's going to Planned Parenthood.

14 Mich-again  Mon, Apr 16, 2012 9:11:18pm

re: #13 The Ghost of a Flea

Planned Parenthood has both (c)(3) and (c)(4) organizations. Donations to the (c)(4) organization are not tax deductible because that group is considered a legislative action organization.

15 HappyWarrior  Mon, Apr 16, 2012 9:20:25pm

Wow dude excellent research. You've done a great job with this.

16 moderatelyradicalliberal  Mon, Apr 16, 2012 10:13:54pm

Boy I tell ya, you turn on the lights and the roaches disperse.

17 Varek Raith  Mon, Apr 16, 2012 10:42:45pm

"The 1st time is happenstance; 2nd time is coincidence; 3rd time is enemy action"

18 freetoken  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 1:46:59am

I'll repeat a post here from last night's thread, in regards to this whole issue and a comment someone left on a wingnut site about Gus's Page:


re: #277 Gus

Comment from there:

Lew says:
April 17, 2012 at 5:03 am

Gus is a pathetic loser. That imbecile writes as if he has unearthed a lost Shakespeare play when all he has done is repeated public information.

WTF does these people think they have discovered about these various relationships and interconnections that SPLC/ADL haven’t know about for years?

That idiot Lew doesn't seem to realize the point - that this connection to racists has been known for years - is the whole issue.

IOW, the "right" in this country, the political groups and their publishers/publicists/outlets have long associated with these racists groups and just ignored the consequences, pretending like it didn't matter.

The heat today arises from the fact that it is becoming clear this relationship does matter, because the political bantering in this country is being strongly tinged by racial hatred that is a reaction to President Obama being elected.

19 The Left  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 5:43:13am

Great page, Gus!

20 teresa  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 6:39:31am

Wow, how many more NRO contributors will be fired this year???
Nice work.

21 Aye Pod  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 8:14:23am

Great page Gus!

These poisonous old monkeys should really rename themselves to WNRO - White Nationalist Racists Online.

22 Kronocide  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 9:09:51am

What right wing racism?

Good work Gus!

23 lawhawk  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 9:15:36am

Not a long walk from Brimelow to Breivik either... Breivik acted upon the xenophobia and anti-Islamic beliefs by murdering dozens of kids, and has the audacity to claim self-defense (ausador's page picks up on the grievance theater that justifies such acts).

24 Gus  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 9:19:19am

re: #23 lawhawk

Not a long walk from Brimelow to Breivik either... Breivik acted upon the xenophobia and anti-Islamic beliefs by murdering dozens of kids, and has the audacity to claim self-defense (ausador's page picks up on the grievance theater that justifies such acts).

Exactly. You can almost feel the tone in the air which is why I said, "With a tone reminiscent of Anders Breivik’s manifesto..." Same tree but different branches.

25 Darth Vader Gargoyle  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 9:19:20am

Before I can make a decision on the validity of this article, I need to know where the National Review falls on the Sharia Turkey issue.
//

Good work Gus!

26 Charles Johnson  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 9:25:46am

Because this post is pretty long, I set up a page break and 'Continue reading' link on the front page.

27 Charles Johnson  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 9:34:15am

re: #23 lawhawk

Not a long walk from Brimelow to Breivik either... Breivik acted upon the xenophobia and anti-Islamic beliefs by murdering dozens of kids, and has the audacity to claim self-defense (ausador's page picks up on the grievance theater that justifies such acts).

I can still hardly believe that Alternative Right actually published an article debating whether whites ought to commit genocide against blacks. How freaking insane do you have to be, just to think something like that -- let alone publish it on the Internet?

The worst thing is that when you start investigating the connections between these people, you don't have to go very far at all until you're looking at mainstream conservatives, holding hands with the racists and helping them spread this evil shit.

28 Randall Gross  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 9:34:34am

re: #23 lawhawk

Side Note: On the first day Breivik appeared in court sporting one, jawline beards suddenly became extremely unhip except with white nationalists.

29 Gus  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 9:35:57am

I'm a bit cynical as to seeing any response from National Review. It's the usual "VDare wall" in which they refuse to acknowledge the white nationalism of Peter Brimelow, et al, and their outright support of nationalist organizations such as the "National Policy Institute." As I mentioned last night in the previous threads comments, these people are "dancing with neo-Nazis."

30 Daniel Ballard  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 9:36:43am

And on a related note, Politico sees the near extinction of the "Blue Dog" Democrats. So where are the moderate right wing people? Not in office apparently. The GOP is just getting deeper and deeper in the hole they dug. It's hard to imagine Romney with a lead, let alone beat Obama.

[Link: www.politico.com...]

31 Sophia77  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 9:38:54am

Reading this gives me chills. It's like looking backward into history, the darkest pages of history, that saw the mass murder of Jews and the enslavement of Africans and African/Americans.

We've always known about extremists and racist organizations but had hoped they were marginal, and didn't operate within the respectable political world.

I'm in shock, actually. I had thought NR was a legitimate journal, that Buckley had clarified the Right's position on race and antisemitism, and that sectarianism was a nightmare in which the US would never awake.

How many people actually feel this way?

PS Mel Gibson? Oy.

32 wrenchwench  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 9:38:59am

From one of the many links at the top, the piece O'Sullivan wrote after Derbyshire got canned:

Moreover, I fear that Mark Steyn is right in saying that Derb’s departure will further narrow the already narrow limits of acceptable debate in American intellectual life.

You can debate whatever you want Mr. O'Sullivan. You just want to whine about 'liberals' finding your views unacceptable as frameworks for modern societies.

He ends that piece by trying make himself look magnanimous for allowing atheists to remain within the fold of conservatives, as a parallel to the argument that white nationalists should be allowed to stay too.

So do we want to excommunicate atheists from our ranks? Or any other kind of heretic? Or do we want to try converting them in debate, always taking the risk that they may convert us, but feeling we are more likely to find the truth when we search freely?

He thinks those white nationalists can convert some 'liberals' if they are allowed to express themselves freely and are listened to freely. He's wrong. They've expressed themselves freely, been listened to, and have been rejected.

Too bad for you, Mr. O'Sullivan.

33 Sheila Broflovski  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 9:41:17am

re: #31 Sophia77

I'm in shock, actually. I had thought NR was a legitimate journal, that Buckley had clarified the Right's position on race and antisemitism, and that sectarianism was a nightmare in which the US would never awake.

Buckley is spinning in his tomb like a flywheel over what NR has become.

I used to read "Commentary" back in the day when it too was literary and intellectual, instead of the screechy wingnut tool it has become.

34 AK-47%  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 9:43:37am

re: #31 Sophia77

Reading this gives me chills. It's like looking backward into history, the darkest pages of history, that saw the mass murder of Jews and the enslavement of Africans and African/Americans.

We've always known about extremists and racist organizations but had hoped they were marginal, and didn't operate within the respectable political world.

The GOP had its chance to distance itself from these idiots, but were afraid to lose their support. It hoped that they could keep quiet enough about it not to scare off too many moderates, but these people are not known for keeping quiet and discreet about voicing their opinions.

35 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 9:45:53am

re: #27 Charles Johnson

Breivik -> Fjordman at Gates of Vienna -> semi-mainstream conservatism in the form of all the sites linking to GoV like Sultan Knish. And GoV's Ned May regularly thanks JPost's Caroline Glick for informational "tips".

36 makeitstop  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 9:46:40am

re: #34 Expand Your Ground

The GOP had its chance to distance itself from these idiots, but were afraid to lose their support. It hoped that they could keep quiet enough about it not to scare off too many moderates, but these people are not known for keeping quiet and discreet about voicing their opinions.

Charles Pierce sums it up nicely today. He hits the perfect balance between snark and cold facts.

37 Our Precious Bodily Fluids  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 9:48:48am

re: #27 Charles Johnson

I can still hardly believe that Alternative Right actually published an article debating whether whites ought to commit genocide against blacks. How freaking insane do you have to be, just to think something like that -- let alone publish it on the Internet?

The worst thing is that when you start investigating the connections between these people, you don't have to go very far at all until you're looking at mainstream conservatives, holding hands with the racists and helping them spread this evil shit.

It really is troubling when one remembers that when Terrible Things actually happen, they don't just suddenly happen in a vacuum. They start with a germ of an idea and snowball. Sometimes it's a Bavarian beer hall. Sometimes it's a Rwandan radio station.

I don't know what kinds of things would have to fall in place before Terrible Things started happening here, but to me it's pretty disquieting when an relatively mainstream publication is full of genocide-flirting lunatics.

38 Kronocide  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 9:51:59am

re: #27 Charles Johnson

The worst thing is that when you start investigating the connections between these people, you don't have to go very far at all until you're looking at mainstream conservatives, holding hands with the racists and helping them spread this evil shit.

As Freetoken said above the alliance between racism and conservatism is showing up more and more in mainstream language. The crap has been bubbling up from the surface in the comments sections of right wing blogs, the figurative sewer.

Racism itself is by definition conservative. Since conservatism did not shed itself of racist alliance long ago (if it even could), conservatism is itself infested and intertwined with racism.

39 Kronocide  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 9:53:19am

re: #32 wrenchwench

O'Sullivan's piece read like faux intellectual derp.

40 wrenchwench  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 9:56:19am

re: #39 Kronocide

O'Sullivan's piece read like faux intellectual derp.

I was thinking, "What a waste of a brain."

41 Kronocide  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 9:56:52am

O-Dufus: anybody who keeps inventing new insults to Obama with an O- in front. Ex: Obummer, Oblama, etc.

Posted on my FB page. Yes, I'm trolling my own FB page. Whatcha goan du boudit?

42 Gus  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 9:56:55am

re: #40 wrenchwench

I was thinking, "What a waste of a brain."

You know he was once an adviser to Margaret Thatcher?

43 Kronocide  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 9:58:41am

It's been a long time but I think I should try and read some Buckley. He is still given deep reverence, but I wonder if he had some leanings too.

44 Sheila Broflovski  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:01:10am

re: #43 Kronocide

It's been a long time but I think I should try and read some Buckley. He is still given deep reverence, but I wonder if he had some leanings too.

Just remember, Gore Vidal called him a nazi and he called Gore Vidal a queer.

45 AK-47%  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:01:32am

re: #32 wrenchwench

This isi not a matter of "excommunicating" those whose doctrines vary from our own, it is about disassociating oneself from people who tolerate or advocate genocide.

46 Obdicut  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:01:44am

re: #43 Kronocide

He started out very racist. He got somewhat better as he went along.

47 SanFranciscoZionist  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:02:21am

re: #28 Randall Gross

Side Note: On the first day Breivik appeared in court sporting one, jawline beards suddenly became extremely unhip except with white nationalists.

Since I can't grow one myself, and neither can my husband, this is not my biggest concern.

However, given that Debbie Schlussel assured me that was a distinctly Muslim-type beard, he may want to re-think.

48 Gus  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:03:38am

re: #43 Kronocide

It's been a long time but I think I should try and read some Buckley. He is still given deep reverence, but I wonder if he had some leanings too.

You can get some snippets of Buckley here from the white nationalists at Amren.

49 Romantic Heretic  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:03:41am

re: #6 The Ghost of a Flea

without quantifying intelligence

I don't believe we'll ever quantify intelligence. We can't even describe it.

50 AK-47%  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:04:26am

re: #47 SanFranciscoZionist

However, given that Debbie Schlussel assured me that was a distinctly Muslim-type beard, he may want to re-think.

It'as also a very Amish/Mennonite thing, but Breivik does not subscribe to their pacifist views...

51 wrenchwench  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:04:32am

re: #42 Gus

You know he was once an adviser to Margaret Thatcher?

No, I didn't. The ties are wide and deep. They need to be severed.

52 Gus  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:05:01am
53 Sheila Broflovski  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:05:21am

re: #50 Expand Your Ground

It'as also a very Amish/Mennonite thing, but Breivik does not subscribe to their pacifist views...

Maybe that's why those Amish went on a beard-cutting spree.//

54 AK-47%  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:05:59am

re: #49 Romantic Heretic

I don't believe we'll ever quantify intelligence. We can't even describe it.

This incredible correlation between "relative scores on IQ tests" and "relative level of intelligence" is the sort of leap of faith that can only be sustained by some form of innate racism.

55 Gus  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:06:06am

re: #52 Gus

Salon picked this up: Another National Review contributor pals around with nativists

Gus from Little Green Footballs found documents showing O’Sullivan was on the board of the “Lexington Research Institute Limited,” a.k.a. the VDARE Foundation, from 2006-2010. During that time, VDARE helped found nativist site “Alternative Right” with a $35,000 grant. Alternative Right is edited by Richard B. Spencer, yet another racist/racialist white nationalist. -- Alex Pareene

56 wrenchwench  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:06:27am

re: #52 Gus

Salon picked this up: Another National Review contributor pals around with nativists

From there:

Gus from Little Green Footballs found documents ...

Go Gus! Knock 'em down!

57 Gus  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:06:50am

re: #56 wrenchwench

From there:

Go Gus! Knock 'em down!

[Dobro slide.]

58 Mostly sane, most of the time.  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:07:25am

re: #50 Expand Your Ground

It'as also a very Amish/Mennonite thing, but Breivik does not subscribe to their pacifist views...

I doubt the Amish care what Breivik wears on his chin. They aren't going to change their ways.

59 Varek Raith  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:07:42am

re: #55 Gus

Gus from Little Green Footballs found documents showing O’Sullivan was on the board of the “Lexington Research Institute Limited,” a.k.a. the VDARE Foundation, from 2006-2010. During that time, VDARE helped found nativist site “Alternative Right” with a $35,000 grant. Alternative Right is edited by Richard B. Spencer, yet another racist/racialist white nationalist. -- Alex Pareene

Can I have your autograph???

60 Kronocide  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:09:28am

Seriously Gus, this is a really good post.

61 wrenchwench  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:10:30am

Breivik considers himself a white nationalist who decided to act. People like O'Sullivan can keep talking and writing, but if they decide to act, they need to be stopped. And while they're talking, they should be ridiculed and have their extremist beliefs shown for what they are.

62 Gus  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:11:01am

re: #60 Kronocide

Seriously Gus, this is a really good post.

Thanks. I wasn't quite sure at first because I have this bad habit of perfectionism. With age though I've learned that it's best just to get things done and not worry about that.

63 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:11:29am

re: #49 Romantic Heretic

As a whole, certainly not. Too complex. Nevertheless, IQ tests do help to get a glimpse of that aspect of intelligence that answers for "abstract reasoning, problem-solving abilities, and capacity to acquire knowledge" (Richard Nisbett, Intelligence and how to get it, 2009, p. 4).

64 gwangung  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:12:37am

re: #61 wrenchwench

Breivik considers himself a white nationalist who decided to act. People like O'Sullivan can keep talking and writing, but if they decide to act, they need to be stopped. And while they're talking, they should be ridiculed and have their extremist beliefs shown for what they are.

Ridiculed as much as you can. They'll complain about PC thought control, but that's just an excuse for having such a weak-ass ideology that can't compete in the market place of ideas.

65 Varek Raith  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:12:50am

re: #63 The Nightmare of the five Orders of Beggars

As a whole, certainly not. Too complex. Nevertheless, IQ tests do help to get a glimpse of that aspect of intelligence that answers for "abstract reasoning, problem-solving abilities, and capacity to acquire knowledge" (Richard Nisbett, Intelligence and how to get it, 2009, p. 4).

I r smartier than u.

66 Obdicut  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:13:18am

re: #42 Gus

You know he was once an adviser to Margaret Thatcher?

Yep. He was one of the main policy-makers behind the more cold-hearted reforms that she implemented.

67 Sheila Broflovski  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:13:43am

re: #65 Varek Raith

I r smartier than u.

I haz a Doktor-ate and I can speak 3 languages! (LOLcats iz wun)

68 Gus  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:13:43am

I made Salon!

[Pops cork.]

69 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:13:46am

re: #65 Varek Raith

I r smartier than u.

If u say so! /

70 AK-47%  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:13:46am

re: #63 The Nightmare of the five Orders of Beggars

As a whole, certainly not. Too complex. Nevertheless, IQ tests do help to get a glimpse of that aspect of intelligence that answers for "abstract reasoning, problem-solving abilities, and capacity to acquire knowledge" (Richard Nisbett, Intelligence and how to get it, 2009, p. 4).

Granted, they can be useful tools, and they can demonstarate that certain types of intelligence are related to race in some manner, but it's just that leap to "white people are genetically more intelligent thatn blacks because they do better on IQ tests" that amazes me.

71 Mostly sane, most of the time.  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:14:23am

re: #63 The Nightmare of the five Orders of Beggars

As a whole, certainly not. Too complex. Nevertheless, IQ tests do help to get a glimpse of that aspect of intelligence that answers for "abstract reasoning, problem-solving abilities, and capacity to acquire knowledge" (Richard Nisbett, Intelligence and how to get it, 2009, p. 4).

It does not, however, measure the ability of a person to interactive with and influence other people, which is a very important ability for many types of success. Possibly one of the most important abilities a human being can possess.

It doesn't measure physical abilities.

It doesn't measure musical abilities. (Hence my father's high IQ and tone deafness.)

It doesn't measure aesthetic abilities, both in perception and execution.

It doesn't get the dishes done, either. The ability to work hard can be learned and is not inherent, but is important.

72 gwangung  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:14:55am

re: #63 The Nightmare of the five Orders of Beggars

As a whole, certainly not. Too complex. Nevertheless, IQ tests do help to get a glimpse of that aspect of intelligence that answers for "abstract reasoning, problem-solving abilities, and capacity to acquire knowledge" (Richard Nisbett, Intelligence and how to get it, 2009, p. 4).

Well, yeah. It's useful. It gets at part of it.

But not all of it. And it probably also measures stuff that we really aren't interested in.

Both of these are important concepts that people in general don't really understand. And it really, really matters that we do understand it. Because you can't even get into causation without it...

73 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:14:55am

re: #70 Expand Your Ground

Certainly. Nisbett BTW has a chapter and a big appendix explaining his theory of how the racial IQ gap can be accounted for purely environmentally.

74 Obdicut  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:15:02am

re: #70 Expand Your Ground

Granted, they can be useful tools, and they can demonstarate that certain types of intelligence are related to race in some manner, but it's just that leap to "white people are genetically more intelligent thatn blacks because they do better on IQ tests" that amazes me.

It's mostly funny because it displays a really profound ignorance of how genetics work. At the very least, it displays the usual genotype/phenotype confusion. At worst, it's pure genetic determinism.

75 Sheila Broflovski  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:15:23am

re: #70 Expand Your Ground

Granted, they can be useful tools, and they can demonstarate that certain types of intelligence are related to race in some manner, but it's just that leap to "white people are genetically more intelligent thatn blacks because they do better on IQ tests" that amazes me.

I think it was shown, back in the 1970's, that some of the logic problems presented in standardized test, like the Stanford Binet, had a cultural bias.

76 Mostly sane, most of the time.  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:15:51am

Breastfeeding.

Not kidding.

It can account for as much as 5 points of IQ, more if the baby was preemie or underweight.

77 Daniel Ballard  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:16:14am

Somebody sent me a link to a Swedish racism scandal.
Shocking photos show Swedish Minister of Culture celebrating with a racist design cake. Very offensive image of a very offensive cake. I fear some may play MBF with this. In any case these politicians too need to be called to account.

The link is NSFW, I'll just post the google search page

[Link: www.google.com...]

78 Mostly sane, most of the time.  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:16:37am

re: #75 Learned Mother of Zion

I think it was shown, back in the 1970's, that some of the logic problems presented in standardized test, like the Stanford Binet, had a cultural bias.

Like cup:saucer.

That makes no sense if your family is too poor to have saucers, or simply doesn't use them.

79 Obdicut  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:16:57am

re: #75 Learned Mother of Zion

The NSA actually has a whole department that works on creating 'novel problems' to test new applicants with, in order to attempt to exclude cultural bias.

I really wish the NSA were more transparent, because some of their research is awesome.

80 Obdicut  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:18:22am

re: #77 Daniel Ballard

I would consider editing your post, because there's no reason to call that an 'nword cake'. It's bad enough on its own without adding that.

81 Kragar  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:18:50am

I know a great deal of very intelligent people who are complete fucking idiots.

82 Mostly sane, most of the time.  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:19:25am

re: #80 Obdicut

I would consider editing your post, because there's no reason to call that an 'nword cake'. It's bad enough on its own without adding that.

Yeah, that was one offensive cake. Did nobody explain to them that that is a really horrible, hurtful thing to do? It's the 21st century, for pity's sake, not the 19th.

83 Simply Sarah  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:20:19am

The major problem with "IQ tests" are that people focus on one value: IQ. The type of testing that gives an IQ as a result can be very helpful in locating and diagnosing strengths and weaknesses of the test taker in certain areas of cognitive ability. The results can help find the root of why someone is struggling in school or the like. For that sort of thing this type of testing can be fantastically useful.

What it isn't useful for is to determine "how smart" someone is. Sadly, since IQ is a nice little number, people like using it as if it really meant something. It's not entirely meaningless, but it means relatively little compared to specific results in each area.

84 Kragar  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:20:49am

Romney Actively Sought Nugent Endorsement and Agreed to His Demands to Win It

Before endorsing him, Nugent demanded that Romney pledge there would be no new gun laws or restrictions on Second Amendment rights in his administration. Romney obliged. Nugent also warned Romney about the "out of control" U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service.

"These are not Ted Nugent demands," he said. "They're logic demands. They're 'we the people' demands. They're right over wrong, good over bad."

85 Obdicut  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:20:59am

re: #77 Daniel Ballard

The larger picture shows that the cake is not simply a racist caricature.

[Link: rodeo.net...]

It's supposed to be a critical commentary on post-Colonialism.

I think it's still in terrible taste and the artist shouldn't have done it, nor should the cultural minister have engaged with it, but it's not the simplistic story some are making it out to be.

86 Daniel Ballard  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:21:12am

re: #80 Obdicut

Done, good suggestion.

87 Obdicut  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:21:13am

re: #82 Mostly sane, most of the time.

Yeah, that was one offensive cake. Did nobody explain to them that that is a really horrible, hurtful thing to do? It's the 21st century, for pity's sake, not the 19th.

See my link.

88 AK-47%  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:21:29am

re: #75 Learned Mother of Zion

I think it was shown, back in the 1970's, that some of the logic problems presented in standardized test, like the Stanford Binet, had a cultural bias.

Beyond that, there is the (predominantly white) cultural notion that one should always do as well as one can on a written test as it will shape your chances for the future.

If you come from a background that does not hold that view, you are not going to make any great effort on an IQ test that seems irrelevant.

90 Sheila Broflovski  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:21:59am

re: #83 Simply Sarah

The major problem with "IQ tests" are that people focus on one value: IQ. The type of testing that gives an IQ as a result can be very helpful in locating and diagnosing strengths and weaknesses of the test taker in certain areas of cognitive ability. The results can help find the root of why someone is struggling in school or the like. For that sort of thing this type of testing can be fantastically useful.

What it isn't useful for is to determine "how smart" someone is. Sadly, since IQ is a nice little number, people like using it as if it really meant something. It's not entirely meaningless, but it means relatively little compared to specific results in each area.

There was an idiot who used to post here, who bragged constantly about having a 167 IQ.

91 Daniel Ballard  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:22:25am

re: #85 Obdicut

This story will be played for effect by the right I'm sure. I just don't get how that kind of thing helps at all, under any circumstances.

92 Varek Raith  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:22:30am

re: #90 Learned Mother of Zion

There was an idiot who used to post here, who bragged constantly about having a 167 IQ.

Mine is infinity+1!

93 Mostly sane, most of the time.  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:24:11am

re: #87 Obdicut

See my link.

Yes, but...any politician worth her ballot would not have allowed herself to be photographed anywhere near that.

94 Kragar  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:24:45am

re: #92 Varek Raith

Mine is infinity+1!

My IQ is ever expanding as I find smart people, crack open their skulls, and drain their gray matter through a proboscis.

96 Shvaughn  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:26:05am

re: #85 Obdicut

The larger picture shows that the cake is not simply a racist caricature.

[Link: rodeo.net...]

It's supposed to be a critical commentary on post-Colonialism.

I think it's still in terrible taste and the artist shouldn't have done it, nor should the cultural minister have engaged with it, but it's not the simplistic story some are making it out to be.

Good political art makes lousy politics for politicians.

97 Obdicut  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:26:12am

re: #93 Mostly sane, most of the time.

Yes, but...any politician worth her ballot would not have allowed herself to be photographed anywhere near that.

I think it was a mistake and a half, but I don't know how much it will affect her in Sweden. People may accept an explanation that she viewed it as an anti-Colonialist, anti-racist artwork, which appears to have been its intention.

98 Shvaughn  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:26:41am

re: #95 Kragar

The Secret Service Says They Are Investigating Ted Nugent’s Threatening Remarks Toward Obama

He's going to claim political persecution now, of course.

99 Obdicut  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:26:49am

re: #95 Kragar

The Secret Service Says They Are Investigating Ted Nugent’s Threatening Remarks Toward Obama

Conclusion: No worries, folks, he's a pussy and shat himself when we talked to him.

100 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:26:53am

Here's Nisbett in NYT:

[Link: www.nytimes.com...]

And here's the appendix to his aforementioned book, entitled "The Case for a Purely Environmental Basis for Black/White Differences in IQ":

101 makeitstop  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:27:11am

re: #84 Kragar

Romney Actively Sought Nugent Endorsement and Agreed to His Demands to Win It

That a Republican presidential candidate believes an endorsement from a has-been hack guitarist is going to win the election shows how completely divorced from reality that candidate is.

Ted Nugent making demands, and Romney acquiescing to them, is a fucking bad joke.

102 wrenchwench  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:27:17am

re: #68 Gus

I made Salon!

[Pops cork.]

Couple more like this and maybe they would hire you.

Don't forget us little people!

103 Kragar  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:28:03am

re: #99 Obdicut

Conclusion: No worries, folks, he's a pussy and shat himself when we talked to him.

"We attempted to serve a warrant, but found that he had cocooned himself inside a shell of his own filth."

104 Simply Sarah  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:29:01am

re: #90 Learned Mother of Zion

There was an idiot who used to post here, who bragged constantly about having a 167 IQ.

Leaving aside the limited value of that number, even if true, the meaning of it isn't even clear without knowing the scale it is on, as the standard deviation varies depending on where you're using.

105 Gus  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:29:47am

re: #102 wrenchwench

Couple more like this and maybe they would hire you.

Don't forget us little people!

I'm already picking out drapes and paint colors.

//

106 Obdicut  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:30:09am

re: #104 Simply Sarah

I always just point out to idiots claiming to have a high IQ that, if it's true, it just means they're more contemptible for wasting it in whatever stupidity they're engaged in.

107 wrenchwench  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:30:43am

Off to work on the bikes that waited patiently while I did my taxes....

108 Sheila Broflovski  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:32:40am

re: #106 Obdicut

I always just point out to idiots claiming to have a high IQ that, if it's true, it just means they're more contemptible for wasting it in whatever stupidity they're engaged in.

MENSA: Many Embarrassing Nutbags and Stupid Assholes

109 CuriousLurker  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:33:17am

re: #68 Gus

I made Salon!

[Pops cork.]

*high-fives Gus* ;o)

I'm kinda surprised that after the first two guys were exposed none of the blogs or news org with extensive resources started digging around checking everyone. Like me, they probably thought, "Nah, there can't possibly be more."

Betcha they'll start digging now.

111 SanFranciscoZionist  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:34:16am

re: #78 Mostly sane, most of the time.

Like cup:saucer.

That makes no sense if your family is too poor to have saucers, or simply doesn't use them.

Analogies were finally removed from the SAT, because there's almost no functional way not to make analogies deeply culturally biased.

I was working on an analogy set with a student the other day. Mexican-American eighth grader, one of those really solid, hard-thinking kids.

I say, "OK, so owl:wise::, now what completes it? Look at a. chicken:brave. Is that it? Are chickens considered to be brave?"

Kid says thoughtfully, "Yes. My uncle has fighting roosters, and they're hella brave. He and his friends talk a lot about how tough their chickens are."

Well, there you are. To sort this thing out, you needed to have a full set of 'animal behavior stereotypes' from Aesop and Reynard the Fox, and as importantly, you need to know that those, and not your personal experience of any specific animal, are what you turn to in this particular case.

I'd rather teach vocabulary, which is what replaced the blankety-blank analogies on the SAT. I think that knowing "inflammatory" and "plethora" is going to get you further than "stubborn as a mule".

112 Shvaughn  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:34:41am

re: #109 CuriousLurker

*high-fives Gus* ;o)

I'm kinda surprised that after the first two guys were exposed none of the blogs or news org with extensive resources started digging around checking everyone. Like me, they probably thought, "Nah, there can't possibly be more."

Betcha they'll start digging now.

I bet they won't.

113 Obdicut  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:34:54am

re: #108 Learned Mother of Zion

MENSA: Many Embarrassing Nutbags and Stupid Assholes

My favorite MENSA club is the one for MENSA members who are currently in prison.

I bet they get asked all the time "If you're so smart..."

114 kirkspencer  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:35:21am

re: #108 Learned Mother of Zion

MENSA: Many Embarrassing Nutbags and Stupid Assholes

That has been my unfortunate experience. My brother phrases it as certifying they used wisdom as a dump stat.

115 SanFranciscoZionist  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:35:42am

re: #85 Obdicut

The larger picture shows that the cake is not simply a racist caricature.

[Link: rodeo.net...]

It's supposed to be a critical commentary on post-Colonialism.

I think it's still in terrible taste and the artist shouldn't have done it, nor should the cultural minister have engaged with it, but it's not the simplistic story some are making it out to be.

Cakewrecks has gone postmodern, I see.

116 Gus  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:35:55am

re: #109 CuriousLurker

*high-fives Gus* ;o)

I'm kinda surprised that after the first two guys were exposed none of the blogs or news org with extensive resources started digging around checking everyone. Like me, they probably thought, "Nah, there can't possibly be more."

Betcha they'll start digging now.

You'd think they would. I imagine if you're set-up as a traditional journalist one would also have a wider array of resources available to dig wider and deeper. The tendency though seems to be to move with the crowds. So instead they all went chasing after the "Ann Romney story" without a thought. Basically it becomes a popularity contest. Issues such as these are more complicated an nuanced which may fail to be noticed by their readership.

117 lawhawk  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:37:19am

re: #94 Kragar

You're some kind of brain bug? /

118 CuriousLurker  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:37:29am

re: #112 Shvaughn

I bet they won't.

Why?

119 Kronocide  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:38:29am

With the unquestioned reverence given it, the Constitution seems to be the newest book of the Bible.

120 Gus  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:38:38am

That pencil sure comes in handy.

122 A Mom Anon  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:41:04am

re: #121 SanFranciscoZionist

If only hateful and stupid could be harnessed to solve our energy needs...

123 Obdicut  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:41:46am

re: #118 CuriousLurker

Why?

Because racism has been being re-mainstreamed over the past ten years or so. It started with Islamophobia, and that was used as wedge to expand into other forms of racism as well. The Ayn Randian economics the GOP now espouse also go hand-in-glove with racism, since any economically disadvantaged group is lower on the scale of ethics and worth according to that unsympathetic worldview.

The media is afraid to call even obvious racists racists these days. They mostly just ask the question, at most "Is x racist?" and then usually invite X on to explain how X isn't racist, not bothering to challenge him with the obvious signs of their racism.

When it does get into the media, it's normally a concerted effort by political opponents-- like was done to Ron Paul about his newsletters. I'm not in the least bit saying it shouldn't have been talked about, merely that the timing of it was political; Paul's been a racist his whole life, just pointing it out during the GOP primary season was cynical.

124 Simply Sarah  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:42:30am

re: #121 SanFranciscoZionist

Meanwhile, Tony Perkins of the Family Research Council has figured out that it was open homosexuality that led the Secret Service guys to sleep with Columbian prostitutes.

I think this nicely helps demonstrate one of the reasons LGBT stuff has been doing (relatively) well in the courts lately. When this is the sort of stuff you're up against it turns out most reasonable judges tend to look fairly favourably on your positions.

125 Gus  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:42:46am

re: #123 Obdicut

Because racism has been being re-mainstreamed over the past ten years or so. It started with Islamophobia, and that was used as wedge to expand into other forms of racism as well. The Ayn Randian economics the GOP now espouse also go hand-in-glove with racism, since any economically disadvantaged group is lower on the scale of ethics and worth according to that unsympathetic worldview.

The media is afraid to call even obvious racists racists these days. They mostly just ask the question, at most "Is x racist?" and then usually invite X on to explain how X isn't racist, not bothering to challenge him with the obvious signs of their racism.

When it does get into the media, it's normally a concerted effort by political opponents-- like was done to Ron Paul about his newsletters. I'm not in the least bit saying it shouldn't have been talked about, merely that the timing of it was political; Paul's been a racist his whole life, just pointing it out during the GOP primary season was cynical.

Hence: neo-Nazis civil rights group?

126 Kragar  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:43:23am

re: #117 lawhawk

You're some kind of brain bug? /

... no

128 Shvaughn  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:44:40am

Speaking of Ron Paul, this blog post by a Republican candidate is pretty amusing where she describes the horror of "Ron Paul Libertarians". Via a post at Balloon Juice.

129 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:45:18am

re: #125 Gus

How did Ann Coulter call the CCC? I forgot, but it was also some benign term.

130 nines09  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:45:44am

re: #95 Kragar

The Secret Service Says They Are Investigating Ted Nugent’s Threatening Remarks Toward Obama

As they should be. This flaming jerk off has said a lot. So make him do what he says "others" wink wink, don't do. Explain himself and tell the Secret Service whose heads he and his would chop off and if he is suggesting violent action against a President. The truth is Jerk Off Ted just works the rubes. Some other RWNJ will think he's doing Gods work and go hurt people because Jerk Off Ted is a real He Man. He should be bitch slapped until he wets himself.

131 Gus  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:46:30am

re: #129 The Nightmare of the five Orders of Beggars

How did Ann Coulter call the CCC? I forgot, but it was also some benign term.

Ann Coulter Defends White Supremacist Group

Still looking...

132 Simply Sarah  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:47:12am

re: #123 Obdicut

Because racism has been being re-mainstreamed over the past ten years or so. It started with Islamophobia, and that was used as wedge to expand into other forms of racism as well. The Ayn Randian economics the GOP now espouse also go hand-in-glove with racism, since any economically disadvantaged group is lower on the scale of ethics and worth according to that unsympathetic worldview.

The media is afraid to call even obvious racists racists these days. They mostly just ask the question, at most "Is x racist?" and then usually invite X on to explain how X isn't racist, not bothering to challenge him with the obvious signs of their racism.

When it does get into the media, it's normally a concerted effort by political opponents-- like was done to Ron Paul about his newsletters. I'm not in the least bit saying it shouldn't have been talked about, merely that the timing of it was political; Paul's been a racist his whole life, just pointing it out during the GOP primary season was cynical.

Here's the thing: We're probably all racist to some degree. Am I racist? Damn right I am. Do I like that fact? Hell no. Do I always realize I'm being racist? No, but sometimes I do. What does this all mean? It means that I, like everyone else, need to look at myself, my actions, and my reactions to spot the insidious racism that still lurks inside and do my best to purge it. I doubt I'll ever be completely successful, but I need to do the best job I can to work towards that.

Anyone that claims to have no racism at all inside of them is likely either a liar or a fool, if not both.

133 Gus  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:47:14am
134 CuriousLurker  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 10:50:54am

re: #123 Obdicut

Because racism has been being re-mainstreamed over the past ten years or so. It started with Islamophobia, and that was used as wedge to expand into other forms of racism as well. The Ayn Randian economics the GOP now espouse also go hand-in-glove with racism, since any economically disadvantaged group is lower on the scale of ethics and worth according to that unsympathetic worldview.

The media is afraid to call even obvious racists racists these days. They mostly just ask the question, at most "Is x racist?" and then usually invite X on to explain how X isn't racist, not bothering to challenge him with the obvious signs of their racism.

When it does get into the media, it's normally a concerted effort by political opponents-- like was done to Ron Paul about his newsletters. I'm not in the least bit saying it shouldn't have been talked about, merely that the timing of it was political; Paul's been a racist his whole life, just pointing it out during the GOP primary season was cynical.

Well, then I can only hope that more people like Gus will keep pointing things out. Maybe at some point an investigative journalist will feel sufficiently chagrined to push the issue. One can hope.

135 Obdicut  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 11:00:40am

re: #132 Simply Sarah

I highly recommend the Harvard Implicit Association Test as a way of getting people to think about the many degrees of unconscious racism.

136 sagehen  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 11:11:13am

re: #43 Kronocide

It's been a long time but I think I should try and read some Buckley. He is still given deep reverence, but I wonder if he had some leanings too.

In 1957, his editorial about segregation and voting rights included this immortal argument:

"The central question that emerges... is whether the White community in the South is entitled to take such measures as are necessary to prevail, politically and culturally, in areas where it does not predominate numerically? The sobering answer is Yes – the White community is so entitled because, for the time being, it is the advanced race."

So, um... the fact that he recanted many years later (when his side had already been clearly demonstrably defeated) has only limited value.

137 sagehen  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 11:22:19am

re: #113 Obdicut

My favorite MENSA club is the one for MENSA members who are currently in prison.

I bet they get asked all the time "If you're so smart..."

Let me just defend MENSA, partially, here....

They have lots of SIGs (special interest groups), and many years ago (pre-internet) the Traveler's SIG was free housing anywhere and everywhere -- people offered up their couches if they didn't have a guest room, played tour guide, it was a great way to get to go lots of places for just the price of a plane ticket (you could be pretty sure neither hosts nor guests were thieves or rapists or serial killers, since people had to be part of one of the local groups and easy to find if anything untoward were to happen)

138 Obdicut  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 12:08:47pm

re: #137 sagehen

Doesn't really seem to have anything to do with it being a MENSA group, though.

139 Patricia Kayden  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 4:28:39pm

Righties really seem to have an attraction to out and out racist groups/ideology. Interesting. They're not even hiding their racism anymore.

Democrats may have their problems (often spineless and weak), but I can truly say that they don't seem to have a problem with racism. Looks like the racists have supporters in the conservative movement.

140 Good Morning  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 5:20:55pm

Kind of silly for white nationalists to be anti immigrant as lots of whites are immigrants. Even dumber since the groups that immigration impacts the most are poor blacks, hispanics and whites that have to compete for low income jobs against new immigrants. But then again white nationalists are kind of dumb.

141 wrenchwench  Tue, Apr 17, 2012 5:31:23pm

re: #140 Good Morning

Welcome, hatchling.


This article has been archived.
Comments are closed.

^ back to top ^

TwitterFacebook

Turn off all ads for a full year by subscribing!
For about 33 cents a day (per month) or 22 cents a day (per year), our subscription option turns off all advertisements at LGF!
Read more...

► LGF Headlines

  • Loading...

► Tweeted Articles

  • Loading...

► Tweeted Pages

  • Loading...

► Top 10 Comments

  • Loading...

► Bottom Comments

  • Loading...

► Recent Comments

  • Loading...

► Tools/Info

► Tag Cloud

► Contact

You must have Javascript enabled to use the contact form.
Your email:

Subject:

Message:


Messages may be published unless you request otherwise.
Tech Note:
Using the Contact Form
LGF Pages

This button leads to the main index of LGF Pages, our user-submitted articles. You can post your own LGF Pages simply by registering a free account with us.

Create a Page

This is the LGF Pages posting bookmarklet. To use it, drag this button to your browser's bookmark bar, and title it 'LGF Pages' (or whatever you like). Then browse to a site you want to post, select some text on the page to use for a quote, click the bookmarklet, and the Pages posting window will appear with the title, text, and any embedded video or audio files already filled in, ready to go.

Or... you can just click this button to open the Pages posting window right away.

Last updated: 2014-03-07 2:19 pm PST

LGF User's Guide
Recent Pages
Randall Gross
Missouri Police Preparing for Grand Jury Decision
Missouri police have been brushing up on constitutional rights and stocking up on riot gear to prepare for a grand jury's decision about whether to charge a white police officer who fatally shot a black 18-year-old in suburban St. ...

3 minutes ago
Views: 27 • Comments: 0
Tweets: 0 • Rating: 0
wheat-dogghazi-bola
Hong Kong Protestor Claims Kenny G Was Supportive During Visit
While people in the USA may not hold Kenny G in high regard as a musician, the Chinese adore his ... um, work. So, when the sax player expressed support for the pro-democracy protesters in Hong Kong during recent visit, ...

14 minutes ago
Views: 39 • Comments: 0
Tweets: 0 • Rating: 0
HamSandwich
Fatah’s Official Facebook Page Praises Jerusalem Baby Killer
Official Fatah Facebook Page

10 hours, 12 minutes ago
Views: 132 • Comments: 4
Tweets: 0 • Rating: -3
FemNaziBitch
Bullied Teen Lands in Hospital After Being Beaten, School Presses Charges - Against Bullied Teen - the New Civil Rights Movement
Almost six weeks after his brutal beating, while still recovering from a traumatic brain injury, Eric Martin walked into a Virginia courtroom last week to face two assault charges. Verbally abused, harassed and bullied since the first grade in ...

21 hours, 32 minutes ago
Views: 398 • Comments: 4
Tweets: 0 • Rating: 9
EiMitch
Cracked: 6 Halloween Pranks for Sociopaths With Unlimited Budgets
cracked.com America's No. 1 holiday celebrating violence and candy is just around the corner, and this year it looks to be better than ever, as the glorious union of art and technology has given us several exciting new ways to ...

2 days, 6 hours ago
Views: 342 • Comments: 0
Tweets: 0 • Rating: 1
Skip Intro
‘Pro-Life’ Group: No Ebola Vaccine if Stem Cells Are Used
A "pro-life" group called Children of God for Life is throwing a fit because Ebola vaccines currently being developed use cells derived from embryonic stem cells. Because it's totally "pro-life" to let living people die of Ebola when it ...

2 days, 15 hours ago
Views: 489 • Comments: 7
Tweets: 0 • Rating: 9
Lumberhead
Moulton Underplays Military Service - Metro - the Boston Globe
This really is remarkable. I came across it over at Charlie Pierce's blog at Esquire. Imagine, a politician downplaying his heroic war record. The American political graveyard has more than a few monuments to politicians and public officials who embellished ...

3 days, 17 hours ago
Views: 339 • Comments: 2
Tweets: 0 • Rating: 1
Souliren
Natalie MacMaster Fiddle school
This is a short (under two minute) video of Natalie teaching a technique for "Athole Brose," in Cape Breton style.

4 days, 11 hours ago
Views: 332 • Comments: 0
Tweets: 0 • Rating: 2
MichaelJ
Amazing RED Camera Footage Kelly Slater’s 540 Air
More: Amazing RED Camera Footage Kelly Slater's 540 Air There's a reason why people refer to 11-time world champ Kelly Slater as "the king". This clip/maneuver is yet another ground-breaking moment in the history of surfing.

6 days, 8 hours ago
Views: 607 • Comments: 3
Tweets: 6 • Rating: 5
Rightwingconspirator
1934 Had Worst Drought of Last Thousand Years-We Made It Worse
"It was the worst by a large margin, falling pretty far outside the normal range of variability that we see in the record," said climate scientist Ben Cook at NASA's Goddard Institute for Space Studies in New York. Cook ...

6 days, 16 hours ago
Views: 646 • Comments: 0
Tweets: 0 • Rating: 5
 Frank says:

You have just destroyed one model XQJ-37 nuclear powered pansexual roto-plooker....and you're gonna have to pay for it.