The Latest from Texas : New Bill would Require a Class on Adoption Before any Abortion
A new bill being advanced in the Texas state Senate would require women to take a three-hour class on adoption before legally being allowed to have an abortion.
Senate Bill 42, filed by Texas State Sen. Eddie Lucio, an anti-abortion Democrat, would direct the state’s Health and Human Services Commission to develop a three-hour course “regarding a pregnant woman’s option to place her child for adoption.” Women would be required to complete the course at least 24 hours before having an abortion. Lucio said the bill is intended to change women’s minds about ending their pregnancies.
“It is my hope that, when presented with more information on adoption resources and services available, more pregnancies can be carried to term,” Lucio said in a statement.
Lucio was the only Senate Democrat who voted in favor of the sweeping abortion restrictions Gov. Rick Perry (R) signed into law this month, which prohibit abortions after 20 weeks of pregnancy, require doctors to have admitting privileges at nearby hospitals and require abortion clinics to become ambulatory surgical centers. Opponents of the law say it is likely to shut down many or most of the abortion clinics in the state.