TwitterFacebook

National Review Fires Another White Nationalist Writer

After Gus 802’s article on his American Renaissance speech
Media • Views: 35,145

LGF gets results: Regarding Robert Weissberg - National Review Online.

Unbeknowst to us, occasional Phi Beta Cons contributor Robert Weissberg (whose book was published a few years ago by Transaction) participated in an American Renaissance conference where he delivered a noxious talk about the future of white nationalism. He will no longer be posting here. Thanks to those who brought it to our attention.

Related:
National Review Writer Robert Weissberg Attends White Nationalist Gathering

Also see:
National Review Is Purging Its Racist Writers - Business - the Atlantic Wire
UPDATED:  National Review  Drops Writer For Speaking At ‘White Supremacist’ Conference | Media Matters for America

Jump to bottom

268 comments

1 William Barnett-Lewis  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 5:37:26am

Geepers, Wally, if they're not careful they'll have no choice but to fire everyone who works there? And then who'd post the derp?

2 Obdicut  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 5:42:06am

So why do Michelle Malkin's articles still appear there? She writes for Vdare, an anti-immigrant hate group.

It's nice to see them cleaning out these worst-of-the-worst, but it's less than honest.

3 wheat-dogg  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 5:42:55am

Shake the tree some more, and see what else falls out.

4 Randall Gross  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 5:49:38am

Thanks again should go to Gus, who did a great post & most of the research. Kudos should also go to those who kept retweeting the facts around it to NRO.

5 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 6:17:24am

So, as Mark Steyn points out, why is Taki still on the NR masthead?

6 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 6:19:37am
Lorraine 04/10/12 21:38
I was wondering what was going to happen to him given that his most recent comment was not so very different from Derb's. I do wonder where it's going to end, though.

Joseph Yeager 04/10/12 21:52
And the purge continues. Bloody hell.

Blog Goliard 04/10/12 21:59
Well, this ought to confuse those folks who were convinced that Derb's firing had something to do with the great Zionist Conspiracy...

Joseph Yeager 04/10/12 22:07
Zionism has nothing to do with it. This purge is all about the replacement of a spine with a limp wrist.

Mitch Baker 04/11/12 00:33
Derb no longer being affiliated with NR - tragic.
This post - farcical.

7 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 6:22:29am

Also, to those who would want to see this as a purge of the whole conservative movement of racists rather than a very selective clean-up of a single magazine and its site: Ann Coulter was purged from NR years ago, she's still big.

8 lawhawk  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 6:22:35am

re: #6 Johnny Derp

Should it really be surprising that the folks posting in the comments there are annoyed that their favorite writers are getting canned for racism? And then trying to find reasons for it in the usual places.

9 leftynyc  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 6:29:17am

I suppose I should be appreciative that NR is taking out the trash but as I consider them to be part of the problem, I remain unimpressed (but very impressed with everyone here who are shining a very unflattering light on the racism that seems to permeate much of the rightest right these days).

I'm old so I remember when William Buckley bucked the tide and shined a light on the anti-semitism on the right - it was an incredibly brave thing to do at the time and he took a lot of heat for it. Where is this generations hero?

10 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 6:31:38am

Morning. Got up about 15 minutes ago and saw the chatter about this on Twitter? Thanks to all involved on my end including Silvio Breckman who brought it to my attention. The original author, Leonard Zeskind of IREHR. Charles Johnson for hosting my page and helping along. And Media Matters for picking up on this and helping to popularize it even more. The credit in the end mostly goes to Loenard Zeskind who did the original leg work.

11 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 6:38:48am

IREHR reports as well:

The National Review and White Nationalism
by Devin Burghart

Turns out that Derbyshire isn't the only racist writing for the National Review these days. As the website Little Green Footballs (LGF) first reported, since 2010 Robert Weissberg, a tenured professor of political science at the University of Illinois at Urbana / Champaign, has written for the National Review's "Phi Beta Cons" blog. His columns have included "Academic Crimethink," "Making Affirmative Action Profitable," and "Dumb is the New Smart."

As LGF noted, last week IREHR exposed Weissberg's presentation to the 2012 American Renaissance conference, where he called for enclave-style white nationalism.

12 WINDUPBIRD DISEASE [S.K.U.M.M.]  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 6:38:50am

it's all about gated drums, guys


politics is passe

13 Randall Gross  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 6:41:16am

re: #10 Gus

Morning. Got up about 15 minutes ago and saw the chatter about this on Twitter? Thanks to all involved on my end including Silvio Breckman who brought it to my attention. The original author, Leonard Zeskind of IREHR. Charles Johnson for hosting my page and helping along. And Media Matters for picking up on this and helping to popularize it even more. The credit in the end mostly goes to Loenard Zeskind who did the original leg work.

Leonard has done great work for a long time, I'll remind lizards that he has a few books published that are well worth the time and money investment (I can only find one available on Kindle:)

[Link: www.amazon.com...]

14 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 6:43:20am

re: #13 Randall Gross

Leonard has done great work for a long time, I'll remind lizards that he has a few books published that are well worth the time and money investment (I can only find one available on Kindle:)

[Link: www.amazon.com...]

Obdicut mentioned that book a few days ago.

15 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 6:44:51am

Where's my beer?

16 Obdicut  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 6:44:55am

re: #14 Gus

It's very good. Lots of detail. Takes close attention while reading it, but it's a really interesting examination of the purposeful tactics and successes of the white nationalists in the US.

17 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 6:48:33am

Confederates over at "Occidental Review" gets mad bro:

Rich Lowry Takes Orders From The Left: Robert Weissberg Purged From National Review
Posted on April 11, 2012 by Hunter Wallace

If you needed any further evidence that National Review is a controlled opposition magazine that transparently works for the Left to enforce PC, Rich Lowry (the author of “Al Sharpton Is Right”) has fired Robert Weissberg after Charles Johnson’s Little Green Footballs wrote a post about him.

Link can be seen in the referrers.

18 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 6:49:05am

re: #17 Gus

Confederates over at "Occidental Review" gets mad bro:

Link can be seen in the referrers.

IREHR, Little Green Footballs, and Media Matters swung into action … within 24 hours, Weissberg became the latest casuality [sic] in the National Review purge.

Awesome sauce.

19 Randall Gross  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 6:50:29am

re: #14 Gus

Obdicut mentioned that book a few days ago.

I just wish he'd reprint some of his old stuff for the Kindle, there's a lot of background from when Tom Metzger was in charge in his previous book, and he's done a lot of articles that could be put in a collection. Leonard deserves not just recognition, but some compensation for the time and energy he's spent on unmasking the racists. He should put together a collection in a timeline and self publish on Amazon.

20 Randall Gross  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 6:52:11am

re: #17 Gus

The number of retweets from this will probably go down, with the initial NRO piece there was a lot of "Ha, look at Charles tilting at windmills" retweeting going on. I think they are regretting that now.

21 Obdicut  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 6:53:50am

re: #20 Randall Gross

It's all a little odd. Why now? And why didn't they know about this themselves? Derbyshire, especially, has been a completely unapologetic racist for years. What's changed?

22 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 6:54:31am

re: #20 Randall Gross

The number of retweets from this will probably go down, with the initial NRO piece there was a lot of "Ha, look at Charles tilting at windmills" retweeting going on. I think they are regretting that now.

No doubt there's a lot of red faces this morning WRT Charles, LGF, and I.

23 Decatur Deb  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 6:56:14am

re: #21 Obdicut

It's all a little odd. Why now? And why didn't they know about this themselves? Derbyshire, especially, has been a completely unapologetic racist for years. What's changed?

Florida sunshine.

24 Randall Gross  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 6:59:56am

re: #21 Obdicut

It's all a little odd. Why now? And why didn't they know about this themselves? Derbyshire, especially, has been a completely unapologetic racist for years. What's changed?

Perhaps with the primary defeats of their Tea Party presidential candidates that they are seeing the fail coming, and the edge of the abyss they are teetering on? Tea Party was ultimately a regional strategy with roots in religion and race that doesn't work well for them on a national stage. Perhaps people are beginning to cancel subs, perhaps people they rub elbows with at those Washington and New York parties are starting to dodge them, perhaps a lot of things? Ultimately in the internet age you can't succeed with open white nationalism.

25 Randall Gross  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:00:12am

re: #23 Decatur Deb

Florida sunshine.

That too!

26 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:01:21am

re: #23 Decatur Deb

Florida sunshine.

Funny I was just thinking about that... put a little sunlight on something...

27 iossarian  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:01:47am

re: #23 Decatur Deb

Florida sunshine.

Exactly. The truth is, a lot of people won't actually disavow the opinions of the fired writers:

- black people have lower intelligence than white people (hence the lower test scores)
- white people are better off living in enclaves (separate but equal)
- etc.

The real split is between those who accept that for tactical reasons you can't express those ideas out loud, and those who don't.

28 Obdicut  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:02:57am

re: #24 Randall Gross

The thing is, getting rid of the most obvious dudes isn't going to actually change the appeal of this shit to non-whites-- and that's the demographic problem that the 'right' is facing. They're not going to be able to continue to win elections, even regionally in many places, without non-white votes.

29 Randall Gross  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:03:23am

re: #24 Randall Gross

Let's not forget advertisers. Big companies can't afford to be associated with that kind of stench in this day and age.

30 Randall Gross  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:04:03am

re: #28 Obdicut

The thing is, getting rid of the most obvious dudes isn't going to actually change the appeal of this shit to non-whites-- and that's the demographic problem that the 'right' is facing. They're not going to be able to continue to win elections, even regionally in many places, without non-white votes.

Exactly.

31 erik_t  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:04:47am

re: #24 Randall Gross

Perhaps with the primary defeats of their Tea Party presidential candidates that they are seeing the fail coming, and the edge of the abyss they are teetering on? Tea Party was ultimately a regional strategy with roots in religion and race that doesn't work well for them on a national stage. Perhaps people are beginning to cancel subs, perhaps people they rub elbows with at those Washington and New York parties are starting to dodge them, perhaps a lot of things? Ultimately in the internet age you can't succeed with open white nationalism.

The let-them-down-gently theory? Seems like this might be the first time this ever actually worked, but maybe they think it's worth a shot anyway. The alternative is not electorally pleasing.

32 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:04:52am

re: #17 Gus

Confederates over at "Occidental Review" "Occidental Dissent"gets mad bro:

Link can be seen in the referrers.

Fixed. Link can be found here.

33 leftynyc  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:06:37am

Sorry to go O/T before 100 posts but this made my head hurt:

[Link: www.huffingtonpost.com...]

West warned constituents at a Tuesday town hall event that he's "heard" that dozens of his Democratic colleagues in the House are members of the Communist Party, the Palm Beach Post reported. West wouldn't elaborate beyond that, however, and didn't offer up any names. There are currently 190 House Democrats.

34 mr.fusion  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:07:30am

Now if we can just get the Drudge Report to fire Matt Drudge

35 erik_t  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:08:04am

re: #33 leftynyc

Sorry to go O/T before 100 posts but this made my head hurt:

[Link: www.huffingtonpost.com...]

Heard it from a pal named Joe?

36 Feline Emperor of the Conservative Waste  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:08:10am

re: #33 leftynyc

Sorry to go O/T before 100 posts but this made my head hurt:

[Link: www.huffingtonpost.com...]

Ah, so West wants to be the new McCarthy. He'll have to get in line with all the other wannabes.

37 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:08:29am

re: #32 Gus

This whole system is consciously designed to fail. The National Review racket is consciously designed to ensure that the Left always triumphs and to turn America into Canada. This is exemplified by obsequious columns by Rich Lowry like “Al Sharpton Is Right” and now it has even got to the power where Charles Johnson has veto power over who represents conservatism.

38 darthstar  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:09:20am

Wow...good work, Gus!

39 Randall Gross  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:09:46am

re: #32 Gus

Fixed. Link can be found here.

Yep, they are using this to feed their paranoid race fantasies. ("See! Even conservative media is controlled by the blacks jews ZoG! politically correct Left!")

40 Feline Emperor of the Conservative Waste  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:11:02am

Projection and denial. Continue to blame outside forces regardless of how convoluted and eventually stupid the explanations get.

41 Decatur Deb  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:11:07am

Tangential to topic, lifted from Memorandum:

National Organization for Marriage has either had 'Damascus' journey or (more likely) a tricksy gay hack.

[Link: www.goodasyou.org...]

42 lawhawk  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:11:10am

re: #22 Gus

It's from them screeching like howler monkeys that LGF is irrelevant. And yet.. .the facts show otherwise.

43 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:11:30am

re: #39 Randall Gross

Yep, they are using this to feed their paranoid race fantasies. ("See! Even conservative media is controlled by the blacks jews ZoG! politically correct Left!")

I was looking at that. The commentators descending into antisemitism WRT to Weissberg. Which shows a couple of absurdities in why Weissberg himself aligns with this putrid bunch and the shallow septic mind of bigots.

44 darthstar  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:12:10am

Now, would you mind getting Erick Erection bumped off CNN...that pasty-white ball of hydrogenated oils and refined sugars irritates the fuck out of me.

45 Decatur Deb  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:12:45am

re: #37 Johnny Derp

If we become Canada do we get Great Northern Pike? Mmmm, planked fish.

46 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:13:25am

Use the veto wisely, Charles! BWAHAHAHAHA!

PS: we really need to update Image: LFGLizardoid.gif

47 Only The Lurker Knows  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:13:33am
48 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:14:14am

re: #42 lawhawk

It's from them screeching like howler monkeys that LGF is irrelevant. And yet.. .the facts show otherwise.

I'm sure of it. Howling at the wind they are still. Today is official "you mad bro" day. They'll be busy butthurt-Tweeting at Charles I'm sure.

49 _RememberTonyC  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:16:02am

Good work, Gus.

50 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:17:03am
Hunter Wallace says:
April 11, 2012 at 5:27 am
Victor Davis Hanson, Heather MacDonald, or Mark Steyn will be next.

When Rich Lowry is finished with National Review, it will be populated by nothing but morons like Kathryn Jean Lopez.

Good list. Let's get to work! /

51 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:17:32am

re: #49 _RememberTonyC

Good work, Gus.

Thanks. As I also noted it was a group effort.

52 Charles Johnson  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:18:30am

In other news, one of the stalker accounts, @XCitizen10, has been shut down by Twitter. Blocking and reporting these freaks really can help.

53 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:19:51am

re: #52 Charles Johnson

In other news, one of the stalker accounts, @XCitizen10, has been shut down by Twitter. Blocking and reporting these freaks really can help.

Excellent. Yeah, that nut was actively harassing people. That other weirdo "Gus_807" needs to get the boot as well.

54 Randall Gross  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:20:11am

re: #51 Gus

Thanks. As I also noted it was a group effort.

Yep, you also remembered Silvio Breckman too, & I think he was the one most persistent in sending and resending the IREHR story initially. If you aren't following Silvio on twitter, you probably should be:

[Link: twitter.com...]

55 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:20:46am

re: #54 Randall Gross

Yep, you also remembered Silvio Breckman too, & I think he was the one most persistent in sending and resending the IREHR story initially. If you aren't following Silvio on twitter, you probably should be:

[Link: twitter.com...]

Yep. I am. Hat tipped him as well.

56 Decatur Deb  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:21:07am

re: #53 Gus

Excellent. Yeah, that nut was actively harassing people. That other weirdo "Gus_807" needs to get the boot as well.

Does it do much good, or do they just become Gus_808?

57 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:22:00am

re: #56 Decatur Deb

Does it do much good, or do they just become Gus_808?

Probably. I ignore them regardless. Don't have time for those septic minds.

58 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:23:15am

Meanwhile newsbusters engages in soft racism:

[Link: newsbusters.org...]

On Monday night’s PBS Newshour, anchor Gwen Ifill mangled the Trayvon Martin story by describing the shooter, George Zimmerman, as simply “white,” when he has a white father and a Latino mother. By that one-white-parent standard, you could call President Obama “white.”

Cept of course Latino, like Hispanic, is not a racial descriptor.

59 Randall Gross  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:23:43am

re: #52 Charles Johnson

In other news, one of the stalker accounts, @XCitizen10, has been shut down by Twitter. Blocking and reporting these freaks really can help.

They might just come back, e.g. "Light_Falcon" is back as "Bright Falcon" ... but it's worth the time to "block and report spam" when you catch a stalker twitter account. I think once twitter associates the account to "Diary of Daedelouse" they block...

60 Decatur Deb  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:25:52am

re: #59 Randall Gross

They might just come back, e.g. "Light_Falcon" is back as "Bright Falcon" ... but it's worth the time to "block and report spam" when you catch a stalker twitter account. I think once twitter associates the account to "Diary of Daedelouse" they block...

Just don't rate if you don't have a psycho doppleganger..sniff...

61 Feline Emperor of the Conservative Waste  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:29:45am

re: #60 Decatur Deb

Just don't rate if you don't have a psycho doppleganger..sniff...

Qu'est-ce que c'est?

62 darthstar  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:30:47am
63 Decatur Deb  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:31:41am

re: #61 Feline Emperor of the Conservative Waste

Qu'est-ce que c'est?

Proudly ignorant of Freedom-ese.

64 darthstar  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:31:58am

re: #61 Feline Emperor of the Conservative Waste

Qu'est-ce que c'est?

Fa-fa-fa-fa-fa-fa-fa-fa-fa.
Better run, run, run
run, run away...

65 Sheila Broflovski  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:32:56am

re: #62 darthstar

Good question...What the hell IS that arch made of?

It must be a portal built by aliens.//

66 Decatur Deb  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:33:04am

re: #62 darthstar

Good question...What the hell IS that arch made of?

100% really shitty luck.

67 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:33:24am

re: #62 darthstar

Good question...What the hell IS that arch made of?

Earthquake and tsunami in Nagasaki in 2011?

[Link: www.snopes.com...]

68 iossarian  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:34:55am

re: #67 Gus

Earthquake and tsunami on Nagasaki in 2011?

[Link: www.snopes.com...]

Obvious instance of chain-email fabrication.

69 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:35:02am
70 lawhawk  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:35:59am

re: #62 darthstar

I call BS. Nagasaki wasn't hit by the tsunami or quake. And we've got confirmation of the hoax.

71 lawhawk  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:36:16am

re: #69 Johnny Derp

Unobtainium

72 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:36:42am

re: #70 lawhawk

I call BS. Nagasaki wasn't hit by the tsunami or quake. And we've got confirmation of the hoax.

That was the first hint at 0:01. //

73 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:37:19am

re: #71 lawhawk

Nah. I get it now. It's made of win. Why isn't everything made of win?

74 William Barnett-Lewis  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:37:41am

re: #67 Gus

Earthquake and tsunami in Nagasaki in 2011?

[Link: www.snopes.com...]

Ah, that's what I thought. I was googling like crazy trying to find info but didn't think to just simply see if Snopes had already done the work.

75 Decatur Deb  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:38:46am

re: #74 William Barnett-Lewis

Ah, that's what I thought. I was googling like crazy trying to find info but didn't think to just simply see if Snopes had already done the work.

After you know that, the two arches show significant differences in detail.

76 Obdicut  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:39:27am

re: #75 Decatur Deb

After you know that, the two arches show significant differences in detail.

Can preserve the joke easily by just asking "WTF do they make those arches out of?"

77 Sheila Broflovski  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:40:17am

re: #75 Decatur Deb

After you know that, the two arches show significant differences in detail.

The aliens built TWO portals! One an entrance, one an exit.

78 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:40:28am

re: #76 Obdicut

Can preserve the joke easily by just asking "WTF do they make those arches out of?"

Onyx. //

79 Decatur Deb  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:41:04am

re: #77 Learned Mother of Zion

The aliens built TWO portals! One an entrance, one an exit.

One is the Lady Aliens' portal.

80 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:41:14am

They make it out of the only indestructible thing. Stupidity.

81 Feline Emperor of the Conservative Waste  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:42:30am

re: #73 Johnny Derp

Nah. I get it now. It's made of win. Why isn't everything made of win?

Something in Nagasaki in August, 1945 being made of "win" appears to be a bit of a stretch. Unless it was the sole concentration of it in the Empire outside of the Emperor at that time.

82 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:43:00am

re: #80 Johnny Derp

They make it out of the only indestructible thing. Stupidity.

Does this mean that stupidity shall inherit the Earth alongside the cockroach? //

83 Feline Emperor of the Conservative Waste  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:43:34am

re: #76 Obdicut

Can preserve the joke easily by just asking "WTF do they make those arches out of?"

If it was two *Golden* arches we'd be asking "WTF do they make those hamburgers out of?"
//

84 iossarian  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:43:47am

re: #73 Johnny Derp

Nah. I get it now. It's made of win. Why isn't everything made of win?

You can't make things out of win.

You can fill them with win though.

85 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:43:47am

re: #82 Gus

Does this mean that stupidity shall inherit the Earth alongside the cockroach? //

Cockroaches are stupid, you know. Wait, I think I see a correlation.../

86 Decatur Deb  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:44:14am

re: #83 Feline Emperor of the Conservative Waste

If it was two *Golden* arches we'd be asking "WTF do they make those hamburgers out of?"
//

Speaking of which, Mickey D has ditched ALEC.

87 lawhawk  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:44:20am

re: #77 Learned Mother of Zion

It's a Stargate, with a spare /

88 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:44:24am

Stolen from dkos:

My grandfather said he was alive before indoor plumbing. I told him I was alive before unlimited text messaging. That's when he punched me.

89 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:45:52am

re: #88 Johnny Derp

Stolen from dkos:

90 William Barnett-Lewis  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:46:21am

re: #81 Feline Emperor of the Conservative Waste

Something in Nagasaki in August, 1945 being made of "win" appears to be a bit of a stretch. Unless it was the sole concentration of it in the Empire outside of the Emperor at that time.

Could be worse - there was the guy who was on a biz trip in Hiroshima and got his left side pretty badly burned. He got home to Nagasaki just in time to see that one go off too. I'd say that was the absence of win and yet he lived to age 93 in 2010...

91 Our Precious Bodily Fluids  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:46:51am

re: #12 windupbird is in the gravity well

it's all about gated drums, guys

I blame Phil Collins entirely.

For everything.

92 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:47:12am

re: #89 Gus

Painful.

93 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:48:05am

re: #91 Satanic Ritual Kazoo

I blame Phil Collins entirely.

For everything.

Personally I blame "Miami Vice" and Jan Hammer. //

94 Decatur Deb  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:48:24am

re: #90 William Barnett-Lewis

Could be worse - there was the guy who was on a biz trip in Hiroshima and got his left side pretty badly burned. He got home to Nagasaki just in time to see that one go off too. I'd say that was the absence of win and yet he lived to age 93 in 2010...

A dozen or so US POWs survived the bombings--a flash of mixed emotions.

95 lawhawk  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:51:21am
96 Randall Gross  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:51:24am

re: #91 Satanic Ritual Kazoo

I blame Phil Collins entirely.

For everything.

Gated drums Torii Win!

97 simoom  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:54:02am

re: #33 leftynyc

Sorry to go O/T before 100 posts but this made my head hurt:

[Link: www.huffingtonpost.com...]

From the underlying article:

The conservative tea party icon also got in shots at Democrats and President Obama, who spoke Tuesday at Florida Atlantic University. West said Obama was "scared" to have a discussion with him. He later said "he's heard" up to 80 U.S. House Democrats are Communist Party members, but wouldn't name names.

I'm actually far less interested in who he thinks is a communist and much more in what his source of information was. There are a number of RW politicians across the country who clearly inform their policy decisions based on some pretty nutty sources -- for example birther or birther-curious legislators -- and it would be clarifying to find out what those sources are.

98 carlaschluge  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:56:43am

re: #97 simoom

Maybe West wanted to ensure the Romney does not consider him for VP.

99 wrenchwench  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:57:52am

Good work, Gus.

100 Decatur Deb  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:58:39am

re: #97 simoom

From the underlying article:

I'm actually far less interested in who he thinks is a communist and much more in what his source of information was. There are a number of RW politicians across the country who clearly inform their policy decisions based on some pretty nutty sources -- for example birther or birther-curious legislators -- and it would be clarifying to find out what those sources are.

It's no great leap from Bircher to birther.

101 Randall Gross  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 7:58:41am

re: #97 simoom

Point taken -- there are sources that habitually misinform, and then there are those sources that malinform. West probably reads some of the latter.

102 lawhawk  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:00:15am

re: #97 simoom

For instance, here, but the source is actually from a list of members of the Congressional Progressive Caucus, not communists. Someone has taken to conflating progressive with communist, and the meme has taken hold with the right wingers like West.

103 Daniel Ballard  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:00:46am

Congratulations Gus. you did some great work with excellent results. Puts ya in the LGF Hall Of Fame AFAIK.

104 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:01:19am

re: #99 wrenchwench

Good work, Gus.

re: #103 Daniel Ballard

Congratulations Gus. you did some great work with excellent results. Puts ya in the LGF Hall Of Fame AFAIK.

Thanks! I want a raise. ;)

105 Decatur Deb  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:01:56am

re: #104 Gus

re: #103 Daniel Ballard

Thanks! I want a raise. ;)

Join a union.

106 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:02:27am

re: #104 Gus

Thanks! I want a raise. ;)

That Zionist paycheck you haven't been getting for years? Now you won't be getting double of that! /

107 Sheila Broflovski  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:04:00am

re: #106 Johnny Derp

That Zionist paycheck you haven't been getting for years? Now you won't be getting double of that! /

I get all of your Zionist paychecks! Bwahahaa!

108 simoom  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:04:07am

re: #95 lawhawk

That's going to leave a mark: U.S. Sues Apple and Publishers Over E-Book Pricing

I guess they failed to reach a settlement. From about a month ago:

[Link: arstechnica.com...]

Until fairly recently, publishers sold books to retailers for around half the suggested cover price, and then retailers were free to set their own prices. In recent years, Apple has turned its e-books business in the iBookstore over to an "agency model," where publishers decide how much the book will sell for at a given retailer, but must take into account the fact that Apple gets a 30 percent cut of each sale. On top of that, Apple stipulated that the publishers could not sell their e-books for lower prices anywhere else.

According to quotes pulled from Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson, Jobs said that publishers then took the agency model to other e-book retailers and told the retailers they had to agree to the minimum retail price set by Apple's pricing strictures, preventing other e-book sellers like Amazon from undercutting the competition. The five publishers under scrutiny for working with Apple in this way include Simon and Schuster, Hachette Book Group, the Penguin Group, Macmillan, and HarperCollins.

The DoJ believes these actions constitute a violation of antitrust law, and are attempting to settle the case with the relevant companies. If a settlement is not reached, according to the WSJ, the DoJ will sue Apple and the five publishers.

109 wrenchwench  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:04:47am

re: #104 Gus

Thanks! I want a raise. ;)

I'll give you half of mine.

*Forks over $0.00*

110 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:04:59am

re: #106 Johnny Derp

That Zionist paycheck you haven't been getting for years? Now you won't be getting double of that! /

I also get a check from Media Matters and AIPAC which confuses the hell out of some people.

//

111 iossarian  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:05:13am

re: #106 Johnny Derp

That Zionist paycheck you haven't been getting for years? Now you won't be getting double of that! /

That NRO check you weren't getting for posting on their loony blog?

Now you're REALLY not getting it.

/you're fired

112 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:05:46am

re: #109 wrenchwench

I'll give you half of mine.

*Forks over $0.00*

re: #107 Learned Mother of Zion

I get all of your Zionist paychecks! Bwahahaa!

What do you use them for? Toilet paper? /

113 Decatur Deb  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:06:15am

re: #110 Gus

I also get a check from Media Matters and AIPAC which confuses the hell out of some people.

//

It's all petty cash to Soros.

114 Shvaughn  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:06:18am

Wait, I thought this place is irrelevant.

115 Decatur Deb  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:07:13am

re: #114 Shvaughn

Wait, I thought this place is irrelevant.

It was supposed to be irreverent. Allomorph problem.

116 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:08:50am

re: #114 Shvaughn

Wait, I thought this place is irrelevant.

LGF is only irrelevant to the people that sit at home reading posts and comments here 24/7; keeping hourly statistics on posters; following LGF members on Twitter; and making screen shots of LGF comments and Tweets. They're the only ones that think LGF is irrelevant.

118 iossarian  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:09:01am
119 Mattand  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:09:26am

Managed to dig up one of Weissberg's gems through the links provided. An article dating back to '99 include this gem in the opening paragraph:

Black-white co-existence is a little like having an incurable medical condition. Nothing even faintly resembling a commendable fix is on the horizon, and present corruptions are the best obtainable. This is a truly disturbing view but, alas, harshly realistic.

Hoooooo-kay...

What's amazing is of the 12 or so people commenting over at NRO about Weissberg's firing, most are lamenting that another intellectual voice has been silenced because of NRO's lack of conviction.

These people don't know how utterly racist Weissberg is or they don't care (most likely the latter). Either way, this speaks volumes to me about how comfortable some in the conservative movement have become with racism.

It's like a twisted version of the Emperor's New Clothes. They're dressing the GOP elephant in a white hood and robe and saying, "What? It's just clothes! White is slimming! Stop reading into things!"

120 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:10:03am

re: #118 iossarian

BTW, have you seen [Link: icanhascheezburger.com...] ?

//

121 iossarian  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:10:04am

re: #117 Johnny Derp

Tea Party Marine Hires Birther Lawyer And Lies To CNN

Birther CNN anchor Lies to Tea Party Marine and Hires Lawyer

122 iossarian  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:10:27am

re: #120 Johnny Derp

BTW, have you seen [Link: icanhascheezburger.com...] ?

//

Ha ha. I am slow.

123 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:11:41am
125 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:12:48am

re: #124 Johnny Derp

Image: advice-animals-memes-animal-memes-philosoraptor-captain-jack-torrents.jpg

You like my description in #116? That still makes me laugh.

126 Decatur Deb  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:13:36am

Time to alter the real world a bit--BBL

127 wrenchwench  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:13:44am

re: #125 Gus

You like my description in #116? That still makes me laugh.

Too bad it's kinda long for a rotating title.

128 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:13:48am

re: #125 Gus

It's funny coz it's true! /

129 Killgore Trout  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:15:15am

A DRAMATIC SURPRISE ON A QUIET SQUARE

130 simoom  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:16:27am

re: #108 simoom

Looks like they're also working with the European Commission toward a settlement:

[Link: arstechnica.com...]

The European Commission began investigating Apple and the book publishers in December for allegedly trying to fix the prices of e-books in an attempt to cripple Amazon's then-popular $9.99 e-book model. The EU was quickly followed by the US, and in late March, the EU and the US DoJ announced they were working together to pursue the case.

"Defendants' ongoing conspiracy and agreement have caused e-book consumers to pay tens of millions of dollars more for e-books than they otherwise would have paid," reads the lawsuit. The DoJ says Apple signed contracts with the publishers ahead of the original iPad's introduction in 2010 that put other e-book vendors at a disadvantage when it came to pricing negotiations.

Rumors of a settlement have been floating about for weeks, but as of last week, Apple, Penguin, and Macmillan were still reportedly resisting engaging in settlement talks with the DoJ. According to sources speaking to Bloomberg, the three companies want to protect the e-book agency model, which allows the publishers to set their own prices on e-books instead of the seller. The DoJ is reportedly looking to change that with its proposed settlement, however—both Bloomberg and the Wall Street Journal seem to be in agreement that the government could try to invalidate the contracts between Apple and the book publishers in question, allowing Amazon (and other vendors) to set their own prices once again.

As we wrote last week, such a settlement would likely result in lower e-book prices on the consumer side. But while the DoJ acknowledged that a settlement proposal would be announced sometime on Wednesday, specifics were not yet available.

131 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:17:06am

re: #117 Johnny Derp

Tea Party Marine Hires Birther Lawyer And Lies To CNN

So, we see that this brave soldier's freedom of speech is infringed. Where are the ACLU commies? Why they don't defend his right to... ohnevermind

132 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:20:49am

re: #131 Johnny Derp

So, we see that this brave soldier's freedom of speech is infringed. Where are the ACLU commies? Why they don't defend his right to... ohnevermind

Stop the ACLU! Derp!

I like the ACLU even though I don't agree with them on everything. With those folks however they don't like the ACLU even though they would, in theory, agree with them on some things. That's the nature of the (ignorant) beast.

133 Obdicut  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:21:27am

re: #131 Johnny Derp

It's a nice gesture, but given what he said it's probable that there's no issue.

Military courts have held that servicemembers have a right to voice their views “so long as it does not impact on discipline, morale, esprit de corps, and civilian supremacy.” (United States v. Brown, 1996)

He talked about refusing to follow orders.

134 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:22:01am

re: #133 Obdicut

It's a nice gesture, but given what he said it's probable that there's no issue.

He talked about refusing to follow orders.

Yeah, I think he should be kicked... out.

135 iossarian  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:22:50am

re: #133 Obdicut

It's a nice gesture, but given what he said it's probable that there's no issue.

He talked about refusing to follow orders.

Not to quibble, but refusing to follow orders isn't necessarily an offense - in fact it can be a requirement in the case of illegal orders, right?

136 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:24:09am

re: #135 iossarian

Not to quibble, but refusing to follow orders isn't necessarily an offense - in fact it can be a requirement in the case of illegal orders, right?

Did he say he would only refuse to follow orders that can reasonably be construed as illegal?

137 carlaschluge  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:24:18am

Another reason not to text while walking. You'll never know when you'll come across a bear.

138 Obdicut  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:25:28am

re: #135 iossarian

Not to quibble, but refusing to follow orders isn't necessarily an offense - in fact it can be a requirement in the case of illegal orders, right?

Sure. And he later claimed that's what he meant. But the original context was about Obama being illegitimate-- in fact, about Obama being a 'domestic enemy', and saying he'd refuse to follow any orders that came from Obama that he believed to be 'unconstitutional'.

139 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:26:25am

re: #138 Obdicut

That's why the decision was not automatic but rather there was a panel that reviewed the facts.

140 iossarian  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:28:34am

re: #138 Obdicut

Sure. And he later claimed that's what he meant. But the original context was about Obama being illegitimate-- in fact, about Obama being a 'domestic enemy', and saying he'd refuse to follow any orders that came from Obama that he believed to be 'unconstitutional'.

Right - I agree. I was just pointing out that the "not following orders" charge needs to be quite specific about which orders are not being followed.

I confess - I was in fact quibbling somewhat.

That's what happens when there are no OUTRAGEOUS OUTRAGES to soften the Wednesday morning blow.

141 Obdicut  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:28:53am

re: #139 Johnny Derp

This is the Oath:

I, [name], do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; that I take this obligation freely, without any mental reservation or purpose of evasion; and that I will well and faithfully discharge the duties of the office on which I am about to enter. So help me God.

He stated he considered Obama one of those 'domestic' enemies of the constitution.

142 NJDhockeyfan  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:29:29am

Good morning lizards!

143 sattv4u2  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:31:37am

re: #142 NJDhockeyfan

Good morning lizards!

Just made it ,,only 28 minutes left!!
/

144 Eventual Carrion  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:33:28am

re: #33 leftynyc

Sorry to go O/T before 100 posts but this made my head hurt:

[Link: www.huffingtonpost.com...]

Wonder if Allen McCarthy West has any proof of this?

145 CuriousLurker  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:33:53am

re: #13 Randall Gross

Leonard has done great work for a long time, I'll remind lizards that he has a few books published that are well worth the time and money investment (I can only find one available on Kindle:)

[Link: www.amazon.com...]

re: #14 Gus

Obdicut mentioned that book a few days ago.

re: #16 Obdicut

It's very good. Lots of detail. Takes close attention while reading it, but it's a really interesting examination of the purposeful tactics and successes of the white nationalists in the US.

Just bought it. Thanks, guys.

146 NJDhockeyfan  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:34:38am

re: #143 sattv4u2

Just made it ,,only 28 minutes left!!
/

147 ProGunLiberal  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:38:29am

re: #141 Obdicut

This is getting ridiculous. Dishonorably discharge him from the military, then root around and find others like him and do the same.

148 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:38:56am

Hands Off Occupy Wall Street!!
Written by Leonard Zeskind & Devin Burghart

Worthy perspective.

149 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:39:26am

re: #148 Johnny Derp

Hands Off Occupy Wall Street!!
Written by Leonard Zeskind & Devin Burghart

Worthy perspective.

Fire up the 6 degrees generator! ;)

151 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:40:51am

re: #149 Gus

Nah, I think even Killgore can endorse the message there.

152 erik_t  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:45:18am

NEIN NEIN NEIN!!!

Cain: "Yes, President Obama is very likable to most people, if you just look at him and his family. But if you look at his policies, which is what most people disagree with, it’s a different story. And I think many men are much more familiar with the failed policies than a lot of other people, as well as the general public."

Stopping the war on caterpillars: ur doin it rong.

153 NJDhockeyfan  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:46:04am

Protesters use children as human blockade in battle at Olympic site

Children were used as a human blockade as protesters tried to prevent police and bailiffs from clearing an Olympics site.

That's despicable.

154 Killgore Trout  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:47:45am

re: #151 Johnny Derp

Nah, I think even Killgore can endorse the message there.

True but the Paulians aren't really trying to coopt the movement. They're a pretty integral part of it. Anon and the Bradley Manning supporters were there from the very beginning. The 9-11 truth movement also has strong ties to the antiwar protesters from the Bush era. That's why I was sad to see that occupy was just the same old collection of protesters. The only new addition was Anon, and they're probably the worst of the bunch.

155 Lidane  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:49:18am

Hannity admits conversation with Zimmerman

Fox News host Sean Hannity admitted Tuesday evening on his show that he spoke to Trayvon Martin shooter George Zimmerman about a possible interview.

“Now for a few weeks we have been pursuing an interview with Mr. Zimmerman to give him a chance to tell his side of the story,” Hannity said. “Now yesterday I was contacted by an individual that we in fact believe was George Zimmerman. He reached out to me, we spoke on the phone about his case, and I agreed not to report on the contents of that conversation. That’s it. I know nothing about his relationship with his now former attorneys.”

Craig Sonner and Hal Uhrig, the former attorneys for Zimmerman, cited his call with Hannity in their surprising press conference Tuesday afternoon.

156 Obdicut  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:49:31am

re: #154 Killgore Trout

It wasn't just the same old collection of protesters. It included them, but it wasn't just that.

157 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:50:36am

re: #154 Killgore Trout

That's why I was sad to see that occupy was just the same old collection of protesters.

I think that's wishful thinking on your part. While some professional protesters undoubtedly took part, in the first period it was a literally "popular" movement. Then it probably reverted back to professional protesters.

158 erik_t  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:51:08am

re: #154 Killgore Trout

The 9-11 truth movement also has strong ties to the antiwar protesters from the Bush era.

This seems like a dubious statement, as the number of Troofers seems to have always been very very much smaller than the number of anti-war protesters.

159 Killgore Trout  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:51:09am

Report: Hacker Attacks on Financial Services Companies Tripled From Last Year

A new report from Florida-based security firm Prolexic says financial services companies were targeted in three times as many attacks in the first quarter of 2012 compared to the first quarter of 2011. “This quarter was characterized by extremely high volumes of malicious traffic directed at our financial services clients,” said Neal Quinn, Prolexic’s vice president of operations, said in a statement.
....
The bump in attacks on Wall Street firms may have something to do with, we’re going out on a limb here, the popularity of Occupy Wall Street with Anonymous and other hacktivists.

160 Obdicut  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:52:45am

re: #159 Killgore Trout

Coincidentally, this means more people should buy Prolexic's services.

161 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:53:08am
162 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:54:05am

YMMV

163 Lidane  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:54:37am

re: #161 Gus

Final linky no worky.

164 MittDoesNotCompute  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:55:44am

re: #62 darthstar

Good question...What the hell IS that arch made of?

They don't make 'em like that anymore...

Edit: It's not the same arch, but given the total destruction that surrounded them, they still stood like Gibraltar.

165 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:55:50am

re: #163 Lidane

Final linky no worky.

Fixed. Thanks...

166 makeitstop  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:56:20am

Late to the thread.

Nice work, Gus!

167 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 8:58:37am

re: #161 Gus

You guys have done a good deed.

168 MittDoesNotCompute  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:01:09am

re: #98 carlaschluge

Maybe West wanted to ensure the Romney does not consider him for VP.

Fine by me, because as the sage Barney Fife once said, "He's a nut!"

169 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:01:30am

re: #167 Johnny Derp

You guys have done a good deed.

Thanks.

170 lawhawk  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:01:49am

North Korea says it's fueling its rocket ahead of the planned launch.

What's the takeaway from that? We're talking about a liquid fueled rocket, not one with solid rocket boosters (SRBs). SRBs are the kinds of missiles/rockets that the US and Russians use as part of their ICBM/IRBM inventories because they're transportable, stable, and generally dependable to launch on no notice. Liquid fueled boosters are used in the space shuttle and other launch platforms when you want to adjust the thrust during the launch or want the capability to shut down the rocket altogether.

Those are all issues in favor of this being a launch for civilian purposes.

However, data gleaned from the launch would have applications for North Korea's military program. They'd be able to gain data about how North Korean tech handles g-loads, data transmissions, and other technical data that could be transferred to the military side. Putting satellites into space would also expand North Korea's intel/military capabilities, and that knowledge would inform future launches and military programs.

In short, they're launching a missile that has all the hallmarks of a civilian application, but the data from which can be used for military purposes.

171 sattv4u2  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:04:17am
172 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:05:56am

re: #167 Johnny Derp

You guys have done a good deed.

Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap!

173 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:08:12am

re: #172 Gus

Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap!

You need to move to DC. Then you can open "DDDDC in DC"!

174 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:11:19am

The Atlantic:

Expounding racist views is not really new for National Review contributors, but it has suddenly become a fireable offense, as the publication has dumped a second contributor following the axing of John Derbyshire on Saturday. In a brief Tuesday night post, National Review editor Rich Lowry thanked "those who brought it to our attention" that Robert Weissberg had "participated in an American Renaissance conference where he delivered a noxious talk about the future of white nationalism." This is not really news, as ThinkProgress points out, since Lowry could have learned it by reading four sentences into Weissberg's Wikipedia page. What is a more recent development is that left-wing blog Little Green Footballs started haranguing National Review about Weissberg on Monday night, followed by the Institute for Research and Education on Human Rights on Tuesday morning. By Tuesday night, Weissberg's firing had been made public. Clearly, National Review is in a listening mood when it comes to complaints about its writers' problematic views on race.

This is actually not correct. The Institute for Research and Education on Human Rights first posted this at their site on Saturday. LGF picked it up by way of Silvio on Monday.

175 Feline Emperor of the Conservative Waste  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:11:45am

re: #144 RayFerd

Wonder if Allen McCarthy West has any proof of this?

He'll just fire up the Bat Computer and some cards telling where to find it will spit right out. Oh, you said Allen West. Never mind.
/

176 engineer cat  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:11:52am

i'm shocked - shocked! - to find nazis hanging out with fascists

and here i thought we were just having a perfectly acceptable conversation about how some people are more worthy than others and therefore deserve to have their capital gains taxes lowered

177 Obdicut  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:13:05am

re: #174 Gus

Should write to them; given that you're the author of the piece here, they'll probably pay attention.

178 NJDhockeyfan  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:16:19am

re: #170 lawhawk

North Korea says it's fueling its rocket ahead of the planned launch.

Together with the nuke test in a few days, this should guarantee the food shipments will be cancelled.

179 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:16:56am

re: #177 Obdicut

Should write to them; given that you're the author of the piece here, they'll probably pay attention.

Done!

180 Mostly sane, most of the time.  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:17:47am

re: #178 NJDhockeyfan

Together with the nuke test in a few days, this should guarantee the food shipments will be cancelled.

Oh, don't worry.

Kim whatsis-bucket won't miss a meal.

181 MittDoesNotCompute  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:18:19am

re: #150 Lidane

Condoleezza Rice at Duke: 'I don't know when immigrants became the enemy'

Hate to tell you, Condi, but to a certain set of white folks all throughout American history, immigrants (and anyone not like themselves) have always been the enemy.

You're very smart with a distinguished career, but with you being a educated black woman, I suspect you knew the answer before you asked the question.

182 erik_t  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:22:37am

re: #170 lawhawk

North Korea says it's fueling its rocket ahead of the planned launch.

What's the takeaway from that? We're talking about a liquid fueled rocket, not one with solid rocket boosters (SRBs). SRBs are the kinds of missiles/rockets that the US and Russians use as part of their ICBM/IRBM inventories because they're transportable, stable, and generally dependable to launch on no notice. Liquid fueled boosters are used in the space shuttle and other launch platforms when you want to adjust the thrust during the launch or want the capability to shut down the rocket altogether.

In fact, both the US and Soviet Union had an all-liquid ICBM fleet into the 1960s, and the Russians only shifted to a solid-motor design in the 1980s or so. Solid-motor designs pose some additional guidance/navigation/control problems, and one would reasonably assume that the DPRK's first strategic missiles would/will be liquid-fueled.

Just to be fair.

183 NJDhockeyfan  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:23:41am

Japan is ready to shoot down the North-Korean rocket; Russia sends spy aircraft

(WAPA) - Many experts and countries expressed their concerns about the new space mission North Korea is ready to launch. These concerns are most of all related to the hypothesis Pyongyang is hiding the development of a nuclear ballistic missile, covering it with the announcement of a space mission. Officially the Unha-3 launcher should put a meteo satellite into the orbit during the celebration of ex-president Kim Il-Sung birth-date.

While Seoul declared it would shot down anything that will fly inside its airspace coming from North Korea, Japan too is prepared for this eventuality. In fact, Tokyo has sent some ships out of its territorial sea, including an AEGIS destroyer which is commissioned to shoot down the rocket if it would fly over Japan.

The launch should be operated between 12 (tomorrow) and 16 April, and Japan's reaction did not passed unnoticed to Moscow which started reconnaissance flights with Il-38 aircraft since March.

Unfortunately, a Japan broadcast channel reported today that two Russian Il-38 aircraft flown over Japan sea to check about destroyer operations, impudently violating Japan's airspace. According to local press reports, the aircraft operated that route to spy the activity of the destroyer, collecting data on the AEGIS anti-aircraft missile system. Two Japanese F-16 fighter aircraft immediately took off for the scramble mission, escorting the two Il-38 reconnaissance planes out of the country's airspace, according to Japan ministry of defence.

184 iossarian  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:25:15am

re: #181 talon_262

Hate to tell you, Condi, but to a certain set of white folks all throughout American history, immigrants (and anyone not like themselves) have always been the enemy.

You're very smart with a distinguished career, but with you being a educated black woman, I suspect you knew the answer before you asked the question.

Condi has a bit of a history of "not noticing racism" I believe. It's probably a requirement if you're going to be a successful black Republican politician.

185 iossarian  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:28:19am

re: #181 talon_262

Hate to tell you, Condi, but to a certain set of white folks all throughout American history, immigrants (and anyone not like themselves) have always been the enemy.

You're very smart with a distinguished career, but with you being a educated black woman, I suspect you knew the answer before you asked the question.

Note that she also sidesteps the issue of racism by talking about "immigrants", when it's pretty obvious that no-one has a problem with white* immigrants.

* By which I mean "white non-hispanic", of course.

186 Charles Johnson  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:29:18am

The stalkers' smear campaign really is backfiring. Now up to three suspended accounts.

187 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:30:49am

re: #174 Gus

He gives his email, you can write. But damn, why can't some journos get basic simple things straight? It's not rocket surgery! /

188 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:32:05am

re: #187 Johnny Derp

He gives his email, you can write. But damn, why can't some journos get basic simple things straight? It's not rocket surgery! /

See #179.

189 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:32:19am

re: #186 Charles Johnson

Did they get the prominent ones?

190 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:32:20am

Which I see you just did.

191 NJDhockeyfan  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:33:01am

re: #185 iossarian

Note that she also sidesteps the issue of racism by talking about "immigrants", when it's pretty obvious that no-one has a problem with white* immigrants.

* By which I mean "white non-hispanic", of course.

The folks who live in the Harrisonburg, Va area would beg to differ with you. They are dealing with a huge Russian population there which most of them are assholes. The locals however have no problem with the Hispanic who live there.

192 Sheila Broflovski  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:36:29am

re: #191 NJDhockeyfan

The folks who live in the Harrisonburg, Va area would beg to differ with you. They are dealing with a huge Russian population there which most of them are assholes. The locals however have no problem with the Hispanic who live there.

By "most of them" I assume you are referring to the inbred, mouth breathing, banjo strumming locals.//

193 dragonfire1981  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:37:06am

re: #186 Charles Johnson

The stalkers' smear campaign really is backfiring. Now up to three suspended accounts.

LIBRUL PERSEKUSHUN!!

194 NJDhockeyfan  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:37:18am

Norway mayor charged with impersonating cop

NORWAY, SC (WCSC) - State Law Enforcement Division officials arrested the mayor of Norway after they say he, among other things, initiated a traffic stop on a South Carolina Highway Patrol trooper.

SLED officials have charged James Arren Preacher Jr. with misconduct in office and impersonating a law enforcement officer.

According to an affidavit, Preacher initiated a traffic stop on a state trooper in Norway on Jan. 18. Court documents state during this time period, Preacher instructed the town's clerk to stat paying him a salary equal to the amount the previous police officer in Norway was making, in addition to his salary as mayor.

Documents also state Preacher hired his son, James Arren Preacher III, owner of All Aqua Environmental in Norway, to a position at the Town of Norway's Water Treatment Department and paid him a salary using official Town of Norway funds.

195 lawhawk  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:38:05am

re: #182 erik_t

That's true. The US and Soviets did use and rely on liquid fueled rockets (one of the reasons that they phased them out was a tendency of the rockets to blow up during maintenance/fueling operations as well as the caustic nature of the propellants used). It was one of the reasons the US was so willing to withdraw its Jupiter missiles from Turkey following the Cuban missile crisis - they could afford to do so with SRBs back in the US and beginning to be deployed from subs.

North Korea could be seen as following a similar path - learn from their liquid fueled rockets and graduate to SRBs, or they could go directly to SRBs as their weapon of choice. The liquid fueled rocket gives them the benefit of claiming civilian purposes, which is a benefit that can't be underestimated to stave off further sanctions against the regime (not that sanctions have hurt the regime - the North Korean people have certainly suffered at the hands of the regime, but the sanctions have not stopped North Korea's militarization).

196 dragonfire1981  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:38:55am

In other news, Glenn Beck is still around and has chosen to begrudgingly endorse Mitt Romney by way off selling "He's not a commy" T-shirts on his website:

Ok, we may have really REALLY liked Rick Santorum...and now he’s out. So it looks like Mitt Romney is going to be the nominee. Well...um...at least he’s not a commy...

[Link: glennbeck.shop.musictoday.com...]

What's absolutely hilarious to me is that the "C" on the t-shirt looks EXACTLY like something Wingnuts would think is meant to be a not so subtle Islamic crescent.

It's a CONSPIRACY I tells you!

197 dragonfire1981  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:39:49am

re: #194 NJDhockeyfan

Norway mayor charged with impersonating cop

My brain automatically went to the country of Norway so then when I read the South Carolina thing, I'm thinking "what in the hell is the mayor of some town in Norway doing messing with state troopers in South Carolina?"

198 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:40:35am

BTW, these banned accounts - were they banned because Twitter has some sort of an anti-stalking rule?

199 NJDhockeyfan  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:40:39am

re: #197 dragonfire1981

My brain automatically went to the country of Norway so then when I read the South Carolina thing, I'm thinking "what in the hell is the mayor of some town in Norway doing messing with state troopers in South Carolina?"

He's obviously pulling of SC cops.

200 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:42:57am

re: #198 Johnny Derp

BTW, these banned accounts - were they banned because Twitter has some sort of an anti-stalking rule?

My theory is the more these sad sacks harass people that Charles interacts with -- which is what they've been doing -- the more people will report them as spam and block.

201 ProGunLiberal  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:44:04am

re: #197 dragonfire1981

That's what I was thinking. Why is there a town named Norway?

202 Mostly sane, most of the time.  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:44:16am

re: #196 dragonfire1981

In other news, Glenn Beck is still around and has chosen to begrudgingly endorse Mitt Romney by way off selling "He's not a commy" T-shirts on his website:

[Link: glennbeck.shop.musictoday.com...]

What's absolutely hilarious to me is that the "C" on the t-shirt looks EXACTLY like something Wingnuts would think is meant to be a not so subtle Islamic crescent.

It's a CONSPIRACY I tells you!

Glenn Beck. One of the 9%.

(To those who are wondering what I mean, in the AZ primary, only 9% of Mormons didn't vote for Romney.)

203 Charles Johnson  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:45:45am
205 dragonfire1981  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:47:28am

re: #202 Mostly sane, most of the time.

Glenn Beck. One of the 9%.

(To those who are wondering what I mean, in the AZ primary, only 9% of Mormons didn't vote for Romney.)

Beck might have a few screws loose but he is pretty intelligent when it comes to knowing where his bread and butter lies and how not to fuck that up.

He's built himself by appealing to evangelical, mormon fearing Christian types. It's not good strategy to piss them off.

206 Charles Johnson  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:47:44am

re: #198 Johnny Derp

Twitter does have policies against abuse and harassment, but I think what happened is that they were spewing their nonsense at so many of my followers that a lot of them used the "Block and Report" feature. Obviously, they're now on Twitter's radar.

Couldn't happen to a creepier bunch.

207 wrenchwench  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:49:25am

re: #203 Charles Johnson

It's interesting to see how many times #Breitbart.com writer @Liberty_Chick retweeted suspended stalker @Xcitizen10's nasty posts.

— Charles Johnson (@Lizardoid) April 11, 2012

If by 'interesting' you mean 'disgusting', then yeah.

208 dragonfire1981  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:50:07am

re: #206 Charles Johnson

Twitter does have policies against abuse and harassment, but I think what happened is that they were spewing their nonsense at so many of my followers that a lot of them used the "Block and Report" feature. Obviously, they're now on Twitter's radar.

Couldn't happen to a creepier bunch.

They'll be back in November. Droves of em.

209 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:50:27am

Looks like the super bigots at "Alternative Right" are mad bro.

210 dragonfire1981  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:50:42am

I keep thinking how cool it would be if Romney could find a VP nominee with the last name Bott so the ticket would be:

Romney/Bott 2012

211 NJDhockeyfan  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:51:27am

re: #201 ProGunLiberal

That's what I was thinking. Why is there a town named Norway?

Not much going on there.

According to the United States Census Bureau, the town has a total area of 0.8 square miles (2.1 km2), of which, 0.8 square miles (2.1 km2) of it is land and 1.19% is water.

212 dragonfire1981  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:51:31am

re: #209 Gus

Looks like the super bigots at "Alternative Right" are mad bro.

*openly wondering what exactly qualifies a person to be labeled as a Super Bigot*

213 Mostly sane, most of the time.  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:52:26am

re: #212 dragonfire1981

*openly wondering what exactly qualifies a person to be labeled as a Super Bigot*

You dislike minorities, and you dress up in Spandex tights and go around trying to be a vigilante?

214 Charles Johnson  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:53:11am

re: #207 wrenchwench

If by 'interesting' you mean 'disgusting', then yeah.

For contrast, when I was in a Twitter argument with @Liberty_Chick recently, and someone "on my side" tweeted a hateful comment at her, I denounced that tweet publicly and blocked the person.

215 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:53:52am

re: #209 Gus

Linky? Gotta be good.

216 Charles Johnson  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:54:06am

re: #209 Gus

Looks like the super bigots at "Alternative Right" are mad bro.

Yeah - we've had a whole 23 visits from the link at their hate site today.

217 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:54:34am

re: #215 Johnny Derp

Linky? Gotta be good.

First link here.

218 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:56:21am

re: #217 Gus

"published by a former Communist Party member with a conviction and a history of libel"

The guy needs to look up "ad hominem".

219 wrenchwench  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:56:37am

re: #214 Charles Johnson

For contrast, when I was in a Twitter argument with @Liberty_Chick recently, and someone "on my side" tweeted a hateful comment at her, I denounced that tweet publicly and blocked the person.

That probably confused the hell out of her. Which is the closest thing to 'shame' that she's capable of.

220 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:57:15am

re: #218 Johnny Derp

"published by a former Communist Party member with a conviction and a history of libel"

The guy needs to look up "ad hominem".

Did you like the way he called my page a rant? That's hilarious because it was anything but a rant. It was just the facts and I barely commented or made judgement. He's mad bro.

221 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 9:58:44am

re: #220 Gus

Yeah, I was thinking about him "and your post is the height of Buckleyesque prose, yeah".

222 Boyo  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:00:31am

can anyone here tell me a little about this ?
my agw deniying friend gleefully sent me this link as "proof" of some sort of hoax or other and said if nasa scientist disagree man made warming is real then it must be all a scam...

[Link: notrickszone.com...]


i notice this story is also on fox nation and alex jones websites

223 Sionainn  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:03:41am

re: #196 dragonfire1981

In other news, Glenn Beck is still around and has chosen to begrudgingly endorse Mitt Romney by way off selling "He's not a commy" T-shirts on his website:

[Link: glennbeck.shop.musictoday.com...]

What's absolutely hilarious to me is that the "C" on the t-shirt looks EXACTLY like something Wingnuts would think is meant to be a not so subtle Islamic crescent.

It's a CONSPIRACY I tells you!

My sister posted that on her FB. She thought it was hilarious. *eye roll*
As a fairly new Muslim, she missed the crescent thing.

224 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:03:42am

re: #221 Johnny Derp

Yeah, I was thinking about him "and your post is the height of Buckleyesque prose, yeah".

Alex Kurtagić

Alex Kurtagić (born 1970) is a right-wing author, musician, artist, columnist, publisher, translator,[5] speaker, racial-realist, elitist, pro-White activist, author, prolific writer, cultural commentator and social critic whose writing deals with topics relating to culture, politics, music, and race relations in the contemporary West, and writer on the Alternative and New Right, based in the United Kingdom...

Since the late 2000s (decade) Kurtagic has been a regular contributor as a social, cultural, and political commentator for right-wing publications, including Taki's Magazine, the Occidental Quarterly, the Occidental Observer, Vdare, American Renaissance, and Alternative Right, which he currently co-edits. In 2011 a collection of his articles and essays was published by Unitall Verlag in German translation as the book Ja, Afrika muss zur Hölle gehen....

Elitist? Laughable.

225 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:03:49am

re: #222 Boyo

Well, in such cases all you need is look at the first sig.

1. /s/ Jack Barneburg, Jack – JSC, Space Shuttle Structures, Engineering Directorate, 34 years

Not a climate scientist. Goodbye.

226 AK-47%  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:05:30am

re: #196 dragonfire1981

In other news, Glenn Beck is still around and has chosen to begrudgingly endorse Mitt Romney by way off selling "He's not a commy" T-shirts on his website:

[Link: glennbeck.shop.musictoday.com...]

What's absolutely hilarious to me is that the "C" on the t-shirt looks EXACTLY like something Wingnuts would think is meant to be a not so subtle Islamic crescent.

It's a CONSPIRACY I tells you!

See? Mitt is even unpopular with fellow Mormons...what's a conservative to do these days?

227 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:08:09am

Youth for Western Civilization - Ties with White Supremacists

Spencer also considers Devin Saucier his friend. In another interview two weeks later on the far-right Wermod and Wermod Publishing Group site with Alex Kurtagic, Spencer's co-editor on the Alternative Right, Spencer remarked, "I'm very lucky to be friends with Kevin DeAnna and Devin Saucier of Youth for Western Civilization. I think this group is extremely important for our side."

Paleocon Starts New Extreme-Right Magazine

Hard to believe there’s a need for yet another far-right magazine or conference, but now there are both. Richard Spencer, who was editor at “Taki’s Magazine,” an online paleoconservative magazine, is now executive editor of a new online magazine called “Alternative Right.” He calls this venture “an online magazine of radical traditionalism” that hopes “to forge a new intellectual right-wing that is independent and outside the ‘conservative’ establishment.” It also is loaded with contributors who, like Spencer, have long lamented the white man’s decline...

More on "Alternative Right" here.

228 dragonfire1981  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:08:27am

re: #226 Expand Your Ground

See? Mitt is even unpopular with fellow Mormons...what's a conservative to do these days?

Post openly racist rants on major conservative websites?

Engage in a childish, immature Twitter war with Charles Johnson?

Attempt to remove any and all rights Women have gotten over the past 50 years?

229 dragonfire1981  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:09:07am

re: #227 Gus

Youth for Western Civilization - Ties with White Supremacists

Paleocon Starts New Extreme-Right Magazine

More on "Alternative Right" here.

Forgive me but how can something be "radical" AND "traditional" at the same time?

230 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:09:09am

re: #224 Gus

What I like about the "honest right" is that they tell it like it is:

Of course, much of this is legitimate investigation into a national story. But in a very real sense, sites like the Daily Caller are doing exactly what the Left says they are doing—race-baiting. They’re pushing buttons, dropping hints, “Trayvon’s really a nigga,” wink-wink . . . (Much of this is related to what Colin Liddel termed “sub-racism.”)

231 Boyo  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:09:20am

re: #225 Johnny Derp

Well, in such cases all you need is look at the first sig.

Not a climate scientist. Goodbye.

hehe awesome Sergey :)

232 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:09:51am

re: #229 dragonfire1981

Forgive me but how can something be "radical" AND "traditional" at the same time?

"Conservative revolution". An old and troubled concept.

233 Sheila Broflovski  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:11:01am

re: #232 Johnny Derp

"Conservative revolution". An old and troubled concept.

Cognitive dissonance.

234 Boyo  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:11:14am

re: #231 Boyo

hehe awesome Sergey :)

I notice that none of the nasa people on that list are climate scientist...what is prompting them to send out this letter then?

235 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:11:31am

re: #231 Boyo

hehe awesome Sergey :)

It's just a quick riposte to get people off your back.

More substantially, you can search this list for climate scientists in vain. Again, PhD's in non-related fields don't count. Astronauts don't count. Engineers don't count. Would you let an engineer do brain surgery on you?

236 Shvaughn  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:12:57am

Looks like NOM got hacked.

Hacking is bad!

NOM is shitty too.

237 Sionainn  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:13:50am

re: #234 Boyo

I notice that none of the nasa people on that list are climate scientist...what is prompting them to send out this letter then?

In the letter, it said "as former NASA employees..."

238 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:14:22am

Rawstory (ABL):

Which leads me to my next point — what the hell is it going to take for Rich Lowry to use the word “racist”? As Gus at Little Green Footballs points out, Weissberg has been a white nationalist for over a decade, writing such racist screeds as this...

239 Shvaughn  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:15:23am

re: #238 Gus

Rawstory (ABL):

Conservatives don't believe "racists" exist any more, only "racialists".

240 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:15:29am

[Snoopy dance with Dobro slide accompaniment.]

//

241 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:15:48am

re: #238 Gus

Finally someone who gets that not only Charles does the stories here (promotion of pages is the next best thing to sliced bread!).

242 Charles Johnson  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:16:12am

Dan Riehl says I lied about him defending John Derbyshire, then defends John Derbyshire: Riehl World View: Race in America: Leftism Is for Dummies, or Is That the Right?

Charles Johnson was quicker and far more deceitful. Also note, I didn't even bother trying to read it until the next day as Taki's servers were crashed - from traffic to the post, I suppose.

Breitbart Blogger Dan Riehl Defends John Derbyshire’s Racist Article The only surprise is that it took him a whole day to come up with a spin.

It's within the Republican Party that you'll find dumbness and weakness among its so called leadership. Just as NRO did, rather than acknowledging any truth in what Derbyshire wrote and quietly dealing with him in whatever way they saw fit, while also using the occurrence as a means of offering some adult discussion on racism in America, they run screaming like a pack of scared little children, seeking comfort by pulling their blankets over their eyes and chewing their pillows in hopes the boogieman at the door goes away. They end up always letting the left drive the discussion, thereby enabling them to frame the debate in such a way as to beat them at the ballot box with it.

243 Shvaughn  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:16:44am

re: #238 Gus

Rawstory (ABL):

Which leads me to my next point — what the hell is it going to take for Rich Lowry to use the word “racist”? As Gus at Little Green Footballs points out, Weissberg has been a white nationalist for over a decade, writing such racist screeds as this...

NRO = Nationalism, Racism Overlooked

244 Lidane  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:18:51am

re: #243 Shvaughn

NRO = Nationalism, Racism Overlooked Since 1955

FTFY

None of this is new. NR is just finding out that the internet doesn't allow you to get away with this shit anymore.

245 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:20:01am

re: #243 Shvaughn

NRO = Nationalism, Racism Overlooked

Never Right, Obviously.
Naughty, Rather Obtuse.

246 Sheila Broflovski  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:20:46am

re: #245 Johnny Derp

Never Right, Obviously.
Naughty, Rather Obtuse.

No Real Objectivity

247 Lidane  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:22:05am

Cue the ZOMG OUTRAGE about boycotts in 3...2...1...

Malkin: Don’t Do Business with Progressive Appeasers

Let’s stipulate: Activists on the left are free to exercise their rights of speech and assembly to boycott businesses whose politics they oppose. Conversely, activists on the right are free to exercise the power of their pocketbooks and refrain from supporting businesses that shun their values.

So, what are you waiting for, conservatives? There are coordinated shakedowns taking place right now that involve some of America’s most prominent companies who’ve chosen to surrender to progressive bullying and race-card opportunism. Silence is complicity.

248 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:24:07am

re: #247 Lidane

Cue the ZOMG OUTRAGE about boycotts in 3...2...1...

Malkin: Don’t Do Business with Progressive Appeasers

Oh brother, "coordinated shakedowns." I can assure you Ms. Malkin that this is not coordinated. It's a natural social response to stupidity and the frequent bigotry.

249 A Mom Anon  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:25:46am

re: #212 dragonfire1981

They wear a cape? With a big red B?

250 Lord Baron Viscount Duke Earl Count Planckton  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:27:30am

re: #230 Johnny Derp

Glenn Beck and the late Andrew Breitbart are (and were) Grand Masters of the race-baiting game. Breitbart rose to national awareness publishing videos of James O’Keefe, dressed as a ‘70s Black pimp, entering a Black-run ACORN office in search of government funding for his “ho.” Breitbart later warned conservatives of the dangers of Back Nationalists in the Department of Agriculture. His posthumous coup (which ultimately fell flat) was to hint that the President himself isn’t what he seems . . . . He’s no liberal backed by Wall Street, no; he’s a closet Black Nationalist!

Analogously, Glenn Beck’s upward trajectory began when he announced, on Fox and Friends, that Barack Obama “has a deep seated hatred of White people or the White culture.”

The Blaze and Breitbart (Beck’s and Breitbart’s answers to the Huffington Post) have filled their webpages with salacious stories of various flash-mob attacks and general Black misbehavior. As I write (Sunday, April 8), the top story on The Blaze is about the New Black Panther Party’s call for a “race war.” On the same night that Breitbart declared John Derbyshire to be a non-person for talking about the dangers of Blacks, its best-read story was one on a unsuspecting White Man who ventured into Black Baltimore and was attacked and stripped of all clothes and possession by a feral gang.

When Andrew Breitbart explicitly talked about his political philosophy, one got the impression that it was some kind of universalistic libertarianism; Beck outdid him in genuflecting to the myth of Martin Luther King. But what they sold to their readers is quite different. It was never about race, but about "principles" and "fair play." R i i i ght . . .

Owing to the decline of the “Gate Keeper” media, at no point in the past half-century has implicit racism been more intense. And at at no point have explicit racists, like Derb, been more furiously denounced.

Again, written by a right-winger. That's what we at LGF have been saying all along, no?

251 Sheila Broflovski  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:28:56am

re: #247 Lidane

Cue the ZOMG OUTRAGE about boycotts in 3...2...1...

Malkin: Don’t Do Business with Progressive Appeasers

Examples of "Conservative" boycotts:

Let's boycott Disney (Land, World, all films) because they have "Gay Day"
Let's boycott Ford Motor Company because Ford Foundation (which has TOTALLY NOTHING to do with the auto manufacturer except the same name) gives money to liberal causes!

Hurr hurr

252 Lidane  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:30:56am
253 wrenchwench  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:32:16am

re: #242 Charles Johnson

unRiehl:

rather than acknowledging any truth in what Derbyshire wrote and quietly dealing with him in whatever way they saw fit, while also using the occurrence as a means of offering some adult discussion on racism in America,

That must be like Adult Videos, obscene and not fit for the general public.

254 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:35:20am

The Atlantic update with my guidance:

(Update: It was actually IREHR that tipped off LGF to the connection in a story last week, via a tweet from one Silvio Breckman).

255 lawhawk  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:36:06am

Fox News claims to have found its mole and is apparently exploring its legal options.

256 SanFranciscoZionist  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:37:09am

re: #21 Obdicut

It's all a little odd. Why now? And why didn't they know about this themselves? Derbyshire, especially, has been a completely unapologetic racist for years. What's changed?

They're getting some bad publicity, so they're making moves to cover their collective ass. That's all, I assume.

257 wrenchwench  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:37:48am

re: #247 Lidane

Cue the ZOMG OUTRAGE about boycotts in 3...2...1...

Malkin: Don’t Do Business with Progressive Appeasers

More from there:

And now, ALEC’s race-hustling enemies are piggybacking on the Trayvon Martin shooting in Florida. They’re shamelessly blaming ALEC for the tragedy by claiming the group wrote the state’s “Stand Your Ground” self-defense law. But as ALEC points out:

The law was the basis for the American Legislative Exchange Council’s model legislation, not the other way around.

Right. That makes it all better.

I hope Malkin's kids (she has kids, right? It is the duty of conservative women to procreate) pester her endlessly to go to McDonald's and Wendy's and Arby's and drink Coke and Pepsi.

258 Obdicut  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:38:18am

re: #256 SanFranciscoZionist

They're getting some bad publicity, so they're making moves to cover their collective ass. That's all, I assume.

Seems a little like cleaning up a really messy apartment-- every bit of junk they take out just reveals even more fetid stuff behind it.

259 Lidane  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:38:47am

I just noticed something. On the right side of the page where Lowry mentions firing Weissberg, there's this:

Image: Murray.jpg

260 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:39:54am

re: #259 Lidane

I just noticed something. On the right side of the page where Lowry mentions firing Weissberg, there's this:

Image: Murray.jpg

Ugh!

[Cracks fingers.]

261 wrenchwench  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:40:20am

re: #259 Lidane

I just noticed something. On the right side of the page where Lowry mentions firing Weissberg, there's this:

Image: Murray.jpg

If they keep cleaning house, they'll eventually come across a mirror, take a look in it, and have to shut down the whole thing.

262 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:40:28am

Un. Freaking. Believable.

263 Killgore Trout  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:40:50am

re: #255 lawhawk

Fox News claims to have found its mole and is apparently exploring its legal options.

I would assume he's signed some sort of non disclosure agreement so he might have some legal problems. Anyways, his leaks weren't very newsworthy and seem to be politically motivated instead of some sort interest in journalistic integrity. I have no love for Fox News but the mole seems like a douche to me.

264 SanFranciscoZionist  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:41:28am

re: #58 Johnny Derp

Meanwhile newsbusters engages in soft racism:

Cept of course Latino, like Hispanic, is not a racial descriptor.

That's not the point, really, since this is about Obama. I sometimes wonder if some of these folks would be mollified if the president would simply agree to be white. Probably not.

265 Shvaughn  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:44:04am

If Bill Schmalfeldt is still around, he might want to delete the threatening comment about Zimmerman "getting some lead" from his fake therealgeorgezimmermanN.com site.

266 Sheila Broflovski  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 10:49:19am

re: #265 Shvaughn

If Bill Schmalfeldt is still around, he might want to delete the threatening comment about Zimmerman "getting some lead" from his fake therealgeorgezimmermanN.com site.

That's a problem with putting up a fake spoof blog (splog?) you still have to monitor comments just like on a real blog.

267 Gus  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 11:07:49am

BREAKING

268 Daniel Ballard  Wed, Apr 11, 2012 11:10:24am

I am feeling genuine outrage after reading about this photography project that exposed how we run juvenile detention.

How can we be so hard on children?


This article has been archived.
Comments are closed.

^ back to top ^

TwitterFacebook

Turn off all ads for a full year by subscribing!
For about 33 cents a day (per month) or 22 cents a day (per year), our subscription option turns off all advertisements at LGF!
Read more...

► LGF Headlines

  • Loading...

► Tweeted Articles

  • Loading...

► Tweeted Pages

  • Loading...

► Top 10 Comments

  • Loading...

► Bottom Comments

  • Loading...

► Recent Comments

  • Loading...

► Tools/Info

► Tag Cloud

► Contact

You must have Javascript enabled to use the contact form.
Your email:

Subject:

Message:


Messages may be published unless you request otherwise.
Tech Note:
Using the Contact Form
LGF Pages

This button leads to the main index of LGF Pages, our user-submitted articles. You can post your own LGF Pages simply by registering a free account with us.

Create a Page

This is the LGF Pages posting bookmarklet. To use it, drag this button to your browser's bookmark bar, and title it 'LGF Pages' (or whatever you like). Then browse to a site you want to post, select some text on the page to use for a quote, click the bookmarklet, and the Pages posting window will appear with the title, text, and any embedded video or audio files already filled in, ready to go.

Or... you can just click this button to open the Pages posting window right away.

Last updated: 2014-03-07 2:19 pm PST

LGF User's Guide
Recent Pages
Randall Gross
Mad Max: Fury Road - Comic Con Footage - Official Warner Bros.
#MadMax - Like the official Facebook page for updates facebook.com Follow us on Twitter at @MadMaxMovieUK Official Comic Con Footage for Mad Max: Fury Road - In UK Cinemas May 15 2015 Oscar-winning filmmaker George Miller's "Mad Max: Fury ...

9 hours, 3 minutes ago
Views: 110 • Comments: 0
Tweets: 1 • Rating: 2
Rightwingconspirator
Washington, D.C., Handgun Carry Ban Is Ruled Unconstitutional
I agree. Bans are not an option. Jurisdictions like DC will just have to deal with the fact that regulation is the path. Bans don't work. Bans are illegal and unwise. It's simple. we as a society have chosen to ...

12 hours, 55 minutes ago
Views: 209 • Comments: 13
Tweets: 0 • Rating: 1
Romantic Heretic
Preventing Poverty Not Allowed As A Goal for Charity
The Canada Revenue Agency (Canada's equivalent of the IRS) has told OXFAM Canada that it cannot list 'preventing poverty' as a goal, only 'alleviating' it. The reason is "Relieving poverty is charitable, but preventing it is not." This is just ...

2 days, 14 hours ago
Views: 336 • Comments: 10
Tweets: 0 • Rating: 4
FemNaziBitch
Safer Era Tests Wisdom of ‘Broken Windows’ Focus on Minor Crime
While the apparent chokehold fueled much of the initial public outcry, community leaders have begun asking whether focusing police officers so intently on such petty offenses makes sense in a city that is far different and far safer than ...

2 days, 21 hours ago
Views: 260 • Comments: 2
Tweets: 0 • Rating: 1
Mentis Fugit
Frisson
Over at the quirky Riddled blog, I encountered this music video link. I have the album, but I had last listened long ago, and I had forgotten the lyrics. The lengthy, moody intro slowly drew me back thirty five years, ...

5 days, 7 hours ago
Views: 221 • Comments: 0
Tweets: 0 • Rating: 0
BadExampleMan
The painful futility of war
This makes me furious. These men pledged their loyalty to their country and their country betrayed them. It treated them as disposable, throwing their lives away in a war that was premised on lies, that was chosen gleefully, and that ...

6 days, 23 hours ago
Views: 400 • Comments: 0
Tweets: 1 • Rating: 1
MichaelJ
Mick Fanning Wins J-Bay Open 2014
More: MICK FANNING WINS J-BAY OPEN Finals day for the contest was run in perfect Supertubes conditions. Too bad Kelly Slater and Jordy Smith were eliminated in lesser quality surf - it would have been amazing to have both of ...

1 week ago
Views: 315 • Comments: 0
Tweets: 0 • Rating: 2
Thrazidun
Paris: Jews Fight Back Against Islamist Mob - Jewish World - News - Arutz Sheva
More: Paris: Jews Fight Back Against Islamist Mob - Jewish World - News - Arutz Sheva

1 week, 2 days ago
Views: 938 • Comments: 5
Tweets: 0 • Rating: 2
GlutenFreeJesus
Gotta love Chicago
Admittedly, I only started following these guys in the past year or two. They have been in the Chicago scene for awhile. And I kick myself after every show for not following them sooner. For any fans of Led Zeppelin, ...

1 week, 2 days ago
Views: 441 • Comments: 0
Tweets: 0 • Rating: 2
wheat-dogghazi
Rachel Aviv: A Middle-School Cheating Scandal Raises Questions About No Child Left Behind
Writing for The New Yorker, Rachel Aviv profiles some of the teachers and principals caught up in Atlanta's standardized cheating scandal. Focusing on Parks Middle School, which is located in a "rough" section of the city, her article portrays a ...

1 week, 3 days ago
Views: 650 • Comments: 2
Tweets: 8 • Rating: 2
 Frank says:

Why do people continue to compose music, and even pretend to teach others how to do it, when they already know the answer? Nobody gives a f*ck.